We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING Lobster Bisque” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Backwater's on Sand Key

Backwater's on Sand Key
Ranked #29 of 686 Restaurants in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Backwaters on Sand Key serves exceptional steaks, fresh local seafood and sandwiches on the waterfront. Beautiful views and friendly service. Full bar and lounge. Lunch or Dinner. Happy Hour 2 to 7 PM
Longwood, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“AMAZING Lobster Bisque”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I had the lobster dinner and it came with a choice of soup...I selected lobster bisque and am so happy that I did. It was amazing. All their food was wonderful...and since it was the 4th of July they had a special cheesecake all done up in red, white and blue. I'd highly recommend this place!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MaureenMcHale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    337
    218
    74
    35
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood on the waterfront”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Delicious fresh seafood! Located on the far corner of a strip mall, it's really easy to miss. Inner dining room is dark and small - we ate outside, but the patio allows smokers. Fried cheese curds were amazing, but the grouper and mahi mahi were even better! Waitstaff were super nice and accommodating.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Meghan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant - non smokers beware of the patio!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Based on the trip advisor reviews we decided to try Backwaters on Sand Key. We were not disappointed for most of our dinner. As reviewed, the view from the patio is great and you feel like you could spend the whole night there. We had a good dinner and a nice bottle of wine, HOWEVER, near the end of our dinner we were surrounded by 3 smoking tables. Because Florida lawmakers are still living in 1970, smoking is still allowed on patios. Unfortunately a great evening and dinner was cut short abruptly. The service is ok but the patio is so nice you want to take your time with your dinner and enjoy the view. But as mentioned previously, if you are a non smoker you may not enjoy your evening.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank FSquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food, great July 4th fireworks views!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We had a late outside deck sitting reservation on July 4th. Very relaxing, food and service were both excellent. Don't miss the fried calamari, fish and chips were quite good as well. We had Cajun fried chicken earlier in the week---plentiful and succulent! Really nice place----check it out!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ineedatrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good food, nice atmosphere.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

The food was very good and a good value for what you get. You can sit inside, or on their deck that sits right on the bay with a beautiful view of the water. Kids meals were reasonably priced and very good. The menu has an excellent selection. We will return when in Sand Key!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Blaine2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Backwater's on Sand Key also viewed

 

Been to Backwater's on Sand Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing