We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”

Backwater's on Sand Key
Ranked #28 of 695 Restaurants in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Armenian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Backwaters on Sand Key serves exceptional steaks, fresh local seafood and sandwiches on the waterfront. Beautiful views and friendly service. Full bar and lounge. Lunch or Dinner. Happy Hour 2 to 7 PM
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Had the Combo steak and grilled shrimp and it was so full of flavor it was just yummy. Great little place with a huge atmosphere, and great food. Convenient to the hotel and a must try.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vicki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    232
    76
    35
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Get the Grouper!!!”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Went there for lunch with my mother (in wheelchair) and sister. They were super friendly and the food was very good. Had scallops as an app and then on to the grouper sandwich (blackened) so good! Sat on the back patio watching pelicans dive bomb as we sat talked and had a great lunch.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank haka-larry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Huge menu”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We ate here twice during our week staying at the Marriott Suites. There is something for everyone on the menu and we enjoyed everything we ordered !
The staff are friendly and the atmosphere good.
One piece of advice though, the chocolate dessert is huge and we were glad we only ordered one between 5 of us !

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CROSSVILLE
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Short walk from Sheraton Sand Key Hotel”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Try the Grouper Sandwich and the Onion Rings. The service is excellent, the food great and the price very reasonable. Eat here and at Maggie Mae's instead of paying the high price at the hotel. You won't be disappointed!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sometimetraveler75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fun spot”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had dinner here. The lobster bisque was very good as were the baked oysters backwater. grouper sandwich was pretty good, but the other things we tried were better. Service was good. fun atmosphere on the crowded and loud side.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank WG6530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Backwater's on Sand Key also viewed

 

Been to Backwater's on Sand Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing