We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice addition to CWB.”

Caretta on the Gulf
Reserve with OpenTable
Caretta on the Gulf is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 695 Restaurants in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Baymont Street
New Port Richey, FL
Level Contributor
73 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice addition to CWB.”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

There aren't a ton of great restaurants around the area, but this is a nice addition. It was surprisingly good for a hotel/resort restaurant. It's a beautiful location inside the Sand Pearl looking over the Gulf. All the staff was friendly and accommodating. We didn't order an app, but the chef sent out a small amuse-bouche of tuna ceviche with a citrus cucumber salad, and it was really good. I had the snapper Caladesi. It was cooked just about perfectly, though it was a little under seasoned. The potatoes and vegetables were good, and it was all served in a nice butter broth. It was much, much lighter than a typical heavy butter sauce, and it complemented the food perfectly. My parents both had the beef tenderloin and were also pleased with their meal. After dinner, they brought out a few hazelnut truffles that were just incredible. When you consider that the place is not only a high-end restaurant but is also located in a fairly pricey resort, their prices were really not bad. Most entrees were between 30 and 40, but they came with sides, unlike many that serve everything ala carte. We will definitely be returning here despite the headache of dealing with CWB traffic.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeremeMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    97
    53
    14
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best food and service at the beach...”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Wow! Excellent food in an absolutely beautiful restaurant with a few of the sunset. The waiter was fabulous - he made everything sound delicious - and it was! Excellent sushi and the best steak I've ever had.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RS0531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best food in cwb”
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

This place is awesome. A bit pricey bit well worth it. Service was not as friendly but overall definitely drop by this place if you are in cwb.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food and service. Excellent atmosphere. We had a group of nine women, the staff really took care of us.... The Sushi was amazing, very fresh, the seafood and steaks were amazing, perfectly cooked. My friend just commented "we have never had service this good" Our waiter knew the menu well and was flexible. We were Celebrating a 40th birthday - they went out of their way to make the dessert special. Worked with the pace of the group... We were not rushed through dinner. Highly recommend this place!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneColumbusIn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narragansett, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Overpriced and Pretentious”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The menu is not very interesting and neither is the flavor of the food. He had salmon, I had black grouper. Both lacked much flavor but were priced over $30 each. We sat on the balcony overlooking the pool area which was very pretty. Our waiter appeared hassled and seemed to have too many tables to serve well. When I asked if he could take a photo of us since it was our anniversary, he replied he was too busy at the time. He never did remember my request. When I asked if there were specials, he informed us that restaurants that offer specials are usually serving yesterday's leftovers! We have enjoyed some amazing specials at very fine restaurants. Overall, Caretta was a disappointment.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Twinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caretta on the Gulf also viewed

 

Been to Caretta on the Gulf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing