We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”

Caretta on the Gulf
Reserve with OpenTable
Caretta on the Gulf is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 697 Restaurants in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Baymont Street
Hammonton, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Really pretty restaurant at the ultra-beautiful Sandpearl Hotel. Do cocktails as the sun goes down...wow! Then dinner will be fabulous--all the food was amazing. Great staff.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank BM24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    98
    53
    14
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Gorgeous buffet breakfast”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

great choice of fresh fruit ,great omelettes wonderful smoked salmon.my little girl loved the pancakes with berries and yoghurt drizzled over them.Great value as she would eat for free

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Darosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleair Beach
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Champagne, oysters and sushi are just the basics, anything and everything for any occasion or just for fun.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank belleairbeachtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
391 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Service great, meal well prepared, too much noise!”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We wanted to have a romantic dinner on the Gulf to celebrate a recent anniversary and decided to make a reservation on a Saturday evening at the Sandpearl Resort’s Caretta on the Gulf. Our overall experience was okay, but certainly not the fine dining experience we had hoped for. First the good news. The decor of the restaurant is very pleasing. Contrary to a few other reviews, we found the service to be top notch. The servers were very attentive and knowledgeable about all items on the menu. Also, every dish that we ordered was very well prepared, although I certainly wouldn’t call the menu “world-class” as they advertise on their website. In fact, the menu is quite limited in offerings. However, as I said, we enjoyed the meal. The bad news is that the restaurant is VERY LOUD. There is a sports bar with a large-screen TV adjacent to the dining area, with no sound barrier between the two spaces. The evening we were there a large crowd had gathered to watch a sporting event on the TV. During the game, which covered the entire time we were eating, those folks were cheering and yelling very loudly. I don’t blame them; they were having fun. But, it certainly dampened the evening for us and others in the restaurant who had hoped for a fine-dining experience with loved ones. Because the folks watching TV were so loud, everyone in the restaurant had to raise their voices just to talk with folks at their own table. The resulting din was almost deafening.

To summarize, we found the service to be outstanding and the meal to be very good (although not worth the cost), but the loudness of the restaurant destroyed any opportunity for a quiet, romantic evening. Will we return? No.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank AldebaranFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Nice for a special feeling Sunday brunch”
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

This didn't seem particularly cheap at 39 per head adults and 19 for children but, by the time we finished I'm pretty sure we ate and drank enough to cover it.

A nice touch to this buffet is the champagne or mimosas. You can have as many as you want included in the price.

We did this for my daughter's 9th birthday. The view was great and staff were pretty tolerant of our over excited six year old.

Whilst for kids I would say the choice is pretty limited I really enjoyed this. Sushi, mussels, flatbreads, veal and chicken entrees. Carvery meat. Omelette, pancake and eggs bar. The usual continental breakfast options including muffins and pastries. Plus lots of mini-deserts.

In terms of traditional breakfast fry-up options things seemed limited to sausage and bacon.

Empty plates were cleared promptly and cutlery refreshed before you had returned with you next plate of food.

A very leisurely brunch - we were there a good two hours!

In this sort of set-up I think it would be a good idea to take diners over the options and what is/isn't included as we weren't totally sure until the bill arrived and include more "bland" kid-friendly stuff.

The hotel could also do with highlighting this to guests. We stumbled over it by accident whilst looking at sample menus in the lobby.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Agmoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caretta on the Gulf also viewed

 

Been to Caretta on the Gulf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing