We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too pricy for the food”

Caretta on the Gulf
Reserve with OpenTable
Caretta on the Gulf is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 695 Restaurants in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Baymont Street
tampa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Too pricy for the food”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

For a family of four it was $175 and I don't even remember what I ate. Too pricy for quality of food served.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank nbolli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    97
    53
    14
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Spectacular setting and fine food but expensive”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

If you are not trying to save pennies, you will enjoy Caretta. We ate there twice on our recent stay at the Sandpearl. The food is first rate, surprisingly so for a hotel restaurant. Steak, fish, appetizers, amuse-bouche: all were delicious and immaculately prepared. And the view over the beach and sunset is wonderful. But is it worth the money? Probably, if you stay away from the excellent wine list that is clearly marked up too far.

The service is generally good, but a little over-elaborate - do we really need the presentation of the featured waters before each meal? Otherwise the staff are friendly and enthusiastically committed to their jobs.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThirdWrangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
135 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Sunday brunch, the way to spend the day”
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Just had Sunday brunch at Caretta, food excellent, good selection, hot egg and waffle bar a must, pre cooked hot food needs a revamp, but acceptable, needs to move nearer the diners, salad and sushi bar A+, in all, worth the visit. Champange,
Or Italian equivalent palatable, nice. Surprised it was not busier.

Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Missouri
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent way to spend an anniversary!”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

To close out our Clearwater vacation and anniversary celebration, we enjoyed an excellent dinner here. The dining area is indoors and outdoors, both of which offer great views of the Gulf. There is also a very nice lounge setup for before or after-dinner drinks. Caretta has a spacious wine and champagnes list, which will please even the pickiest. We enjoyed a nice bottle of champagne with our Peruvian Potato Gnocci and Veal Porterhouse. Both meals were cooked to perfection and full of taste. To finish, we enjoyed the Blanc et Noir (Black and White) dessert...simply amazing. Although somewhat pricey, the food and tremendous service combined with the atmosphere make for the perfect evening.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Biff3007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Recommended!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Excellent service and quality of food. The morning breakfast buffet was delicious with a great variety of foods with friendly wait staff in an upscale setting.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank jsquared312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caretta on the Gulf also viewed

 

Been to Caretta on the Gulf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing