We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a great dinner”

Palm Pavilion Beachside Grill & Bar
Ranked #25 of 693 Restaurants in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Had a great dinner”
Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

Right on the beach! There was a big crowd to watch the sunset, which was awesome. The food was very good. The drinks were very good as well. Service was good even though they were very busy.

Another reviewer mentioned a private parking lot. There was a small one adjacent to the hotel next door. It was half blocked off and otherwise full and small anyway. We found a spot in the public lot (right there) after circling a few times.

All in all a great place to have dinner and drinks and watch the sunset.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,706 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    781
    579
    207
    77
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
120 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Terrific beachfront view, private parking lot, attentive staff”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Food is good, servers are attentive. Not fancy, but view is fantastic. Private parking at side of building makes it nice when the main beach parking lot is full. We always tip the lot attendant, even though there's no charge for parking. Never been disappointed on any of our visits.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarryOnTravl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, IL
Level Contributor
241 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“They changed the Fish Spread! So Sad!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Last review I raved about the fish spread.....not anymore. Last time it was a huge serving with large chunks of smoked fish. Today it was a scoop each on a slice of tomato (2) with no smoked taste and the consistency of puree. The fish tacos were good, the margaritas very good, and the service was excellent. otherwise I would have given it 3 stars. Just didn't want my Tripadvisor pals misled by my previous review!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Connor11_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
226 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Old Florida charm; wondrous wasabi scallops”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Went to the Palm Pavilion at the suggestion of several locals...it did not disappoint. Old Florida charm with a nice vista. Parking is tough...walk if you can.

It is beach-side alright, bit this is a broad beach. The view is framed by two sand dunes, but marred slightly by a sea of yellow umbrellas. White noise din: ceiling fans, jet-skis, waves, a loud bar. A graying rock band was doing a nice job with covers of Pixies, Floyd, the blues classic "Crossroads". So refreshing to hear beach bar bands do something different; if I hear "Hotel California" one more time I'll stick a fork in my ear.

The table legs are large & awkward. Service was friendly & attentive (Jeff, I think). Decent prices.

Great starters. we shared gator, coconut shrimp and my favorite: grilled scallops drizzled with wasabi sauce. The shrimp basket was disappointing...the shrimps were small and the breading fell off when you dipped it, but the fries were excellent. Others in our group were happy with their fish tacos and grouper.

For me, an ideal dining experience is watching a sunset while enjoying shrimp and beer. Palm Pavilion is a good spot for exactly that.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cdub333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Seafood”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Situated on the beach it's a perfect place to take a break relax and eat.

We sat outside on the decking and took in the breath taking views of the Gulf. The service was very good and we were seated quickly even though it was busy at a table of our choice. The menu has something for everyone however I would recommend the seafood especially the shrimps.

The live music was a lovely accompliment and made us relax even more. A lovely place to watch the sun set and would definitely go back when we are next in Florida.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palm Pavilion Beachside Grill & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Palm Pavilion Beachside Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing