We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“learn about the Florida panthers”

Jungle Adventures A Real Florida Animal Park
Ranked #8 of 13 things to do in Christmas
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Jungle Adventures, A Real Florida Animal Park is the natural habitat jungle home of our rare Florida Panthers, Black Bears, Wolves, White-Tailed Deer, Tropical Birds, Reptiles, Mammals, and other critters. When you enter this timeless old Florida Hidden Treasure attraction on a journey into a lost world that time forgot. SEE, HEAR, SMELL AND FEEL OLD, REAL FLORIDA. Live Guided Tours include a Hands On Wildlife Presentation where you get to hold a juvenile American Alligator, a Native American/Old Florida Village Presentation learning how Florida's 1st Settlers survived in the area, a Gator Feeding - watch our guides hand feed the larger gators in the park,and our Jungle Swamp Cruise, a 15 minute, in park pontoon boat ride on our Green Gator River, home to over 50 large (9 to 14 foot) alligators. Once you complete your guided tour, you are able to walk at your leisure and see the animals that we have on exhibit that include lemurs, monkeys, crocodiles, caimans, Florida Panthers/Cougars and variety of other interesting animals including over 200 alligators in various areas.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
196 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“learn about the Florida panthers”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Not a big zoo so not too much walking. The guides are very good at explaining the panther rescue and conservation efforts. the gators put on a good show at feeding time. loved the native American Indian explain the tools and ways of his people.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ginny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    74
    32
    10
    38
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
144 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Nice for an hour or two with little kids”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stopped here as part of a cruise excursion. The guides were knowledgeable, friendly, and definately passionate about what they are doing.

The hands on show was very enjoyable particularly for my son.

The native american presentation was a little dry but informative. Lots of varieties of animals on sight and we enjoyed walking around a bit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ASHMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A Day with Duck Weed”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We did enjoy parts of the park. It all needed a little updating especially the outside entrance. The staff was great!! Meeting a few of the animals was fun but the cruise was not so great. No one told us about the big cats that were there and I would have loved to have learned about them. One of the best parts was the Indian Village which we were told might be discontinued and was not supported financially by the park. The Native American was great in his tale of the first occupants of our country. I would hate to see that highlight go. Then it would be a thumbs down. If you are in the area, give it a try but don't drive an hour or more as we did.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank barringtonbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great zoo”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Small but well-planned out zoo. Interactive wildlife presentation, great boat ride through a swamp, interesting Indian village replica. I thought the animal enclosures were kept very clean, much larger and cleaner than those at other zoos managed by conservation societies in the Northeast where we live. Courteous staff, obvious animal enthusiasts, our visit lasted about 2 hours which is just right if you have young kids. Overall, we were very pleased with our visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Hill, Texas
Level Contributor
129 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Worth an Afternoon Stop”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We weren't sure about stopping here but, are glad we did. We stopped here late in the day so, a lot of the animals where in for the night but, what we were able to see was worth it. It's just a casual stop that's good to go if you have younger kids and need a quiet yet entertaining something to do while traveling through the area. We had a 9 year old boy with us and he had a fabulous time.

It's possible that it may depend on your tour guide for how entertaining it is. Our tour guide was awesome. He was talkative, entertaining, and educative while pointing out things on the swamp tour and feeding the gators. Interactive guides will make all the difference on this stop.

They do depend on admissions and donations so, this place likely could use more support for improvements but, I still absolutely recommend the stop.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank poutababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jungle Adventures A Real Florida Animal Park also viewed

 

Been to Jungle Adventures A Real Florida Animal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing