We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Motel on a Quiet Island”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chokoloskee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkway Motel & Marina
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chokoloskee
Certificate of Excellence
Vergennes, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Quiet Motel on a Quiet Island”
Reviewed February 1, 2008

We were spending some time in the Everglades and needed a place to stay. Using TripAdvisor, we chose this motel. It was difficult to find information online about this motel, but we trusted the TripAdvisor reviews and booked two nights.

The motel room was spacious and clean. It had a vinyl tile floor, and it only had a shower (no tub). The linens were phenomenol (not your cheap white linens), though the pillows were a little flat for my tastes. There is a 5 cubic foot fridge, a big list of cable channels, and you can buy internet access for $5/day or less (though I chose not to).

The owners are very sweet, and they have a lot of good recommendations for travelers. The marina itself is a good place to watch a sunset.

We were pleased with the room, and we would not hesitate to stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
Helpful?
3 Thank Selinthia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    34
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
51
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2008

This is not the glitz of the East Coast but a small little piece of heaven if you want a place to get away from it all. Although the sound proofing is limited we had no problems as everyone was very thoughtful. The room was very comfortable and although this motel had seen its better days the owners are working very hard to correct this with fresh paint and homey touches. We will go back but this time will reserve an efficiency as they are roomier. I could not have asked for nicer innkeepers...they aim to please and I would suggest you give this place a try. The owners recommended great restaurants and all in all it was very relaxing. Please note though there was not a grab bar in the bathroom so if you are infirm this might be a problem.

  • Liked — the away from it all location
  • Disliked — sound proofing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Gringo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2007

I'm not normally one to take the time to write a review, but the Parkway Motel absolutely deserves it. The rooms were extremely clean and spacious, and very well decorated, with a homelike feel. The kitchen was stocked with every supply we could ask for, right down to the paper towels and dish soap. They even have a two bedroom house for rent just steps away from the docks. The owners were very gracious, always accessible, and some of the nicest people I have ever met. They were extremely knowledgeable about the area and made some excellent recommendations on restaurants, fishing guides, activities for the kids, etc. Their marina is complete with a boat lift, gas, bait, and even a small tackle and snack store. I have been visiting Chokoloskee Island for over 20 years now and never have I enjoyed my stay more than I have at Parkway. I am a customer for life, and will definately visit more often because of the level of service and comfort I was given at Parkway.

  • Liked — clean rooms, friendly owners
  • Disliked — absolutely nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank jk0924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, CA
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2007

I was concerned about finding a decent place to stay in the Everglades City area. I was referred by our private guide, Captain Rodney, in Chokoloskee to the Parkway Motel and Marina. It is located 7 miles across the causeway from Everglades City on Chokoloskee Island.

I was pleasantly surprised by the quailty of the motel. The room was very clean, comfortable, and spacious. It was newly renovated with a very cool art deco bathroom. Lots of big fluffy towels and soap were provided. There was also a refridgerator with a good-sized freezer. Washers and dryers were just a few steps away in the marina area.

I highly recommend this motel to anyone visiting the west side of Everglades National Park.

The owner also gave me excellent referrals for local restaurants. (Unfortunately, Everglades City has a few bad ones.) We ate breakfast and lunch at Havana Cafe on Chokoloskee Island. We also had the freshest salad and amazing desserts at Camellia Street BBQ and Seafood Grille in Everglades City.

  • Liked — The room was very well decorated.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
13 Thank Hates_Flying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chokoloskee
0.3 mi away
Outdoor Resorts of Chokoloskee
13.7 mi away
Port of the Islands Everglades Adventure Resort
24.1 mi away
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#4 of 12 in Marco Island
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Everglades City Motel
Everglades City Motel
#1 of 2 in Everglades City
630 reviews
3.5 mi away
River Wilderness Waterfront Villas, Everglades
3.4 mi away
The Captain's Table Lodge
The Captain's Table Lodge
#2 of 2 in Everglades City
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkway Motel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkway Motel & Marina

Property: Parkway Motel & Marina
Address: PO Box 340, 1180 Chokoloskee Drive #26, Chokoloskee, FL 34138-0340
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Chokoloskee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chokoloskee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parkway Motel & Marina on Chokoloskee Island is surrounded by the natural beauty of the Everglades National Park and the 10,000 Islands. This area is world famous for its fishing, kayaking, sightseeing, history, bird watching and photography. The Smallwood Store and Museum is just a short walk. The unique ecosystem here is a favorite among visitors from near and abroad. We offer the comfort of home in our redecorated kitchenette and rooms. There is also a 2 bedroom/2 bath cottage overlooking the marina. Boat docks are available for rent and our full service marina and tackle shop has everything you need for a great day of fishing, sightseeing or just relaxing. Guide services are unbeatable. Guides are available for back country, off shore, fly fishing, photography and bird watching. They are knowledgeable and know just where to go. Chokoloskee Island is located just south of Everglades City which offers tours of Everglades National Park, air boat rides, museum and area restaurants specializing in fresh local seafood. Parkway Motel & Marina offers a quiet island get-away with great fishing and the closest access to Florida's 10,000 Islands, Everglades National Park and The Gulf of Mexico. Call today for your reservation for relaxation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Parkway Motel & Marina Hotel Chokoloskee
Parkway Motel And Marina
Parkway Hotel Chokoloskee
Parkway Hotel Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing