We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Catfish ever!”
Review of Skins & Bubbas BBQ

Skins & Bubbas BBQ
Ranked #5 of 26 Restaurants in Chipley
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Boone, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“The best Catfish ever!”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We went to Skins and Bubbas twice while we were in Chipley. I had to ask about the name! Two high school buddies ( those where their nicknames ) started cooking together and it stuck!

The food is excellent! Nothing fancy mind you. Just good food! The first night we ordered the ribeye. It was hand cut, about an inch thick and more than half of the plate. Very good! We saw someone with a catfish plate and went back to get it. Man! Now I'm a catfish lover... and this was the sweetest, crispiest, tenderest fried cat I've ever had.
Great service too!

I would highly recommend Skins and Bubba's to anyone looking for great food at good prices.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GranNan04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    26
    19
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Zephyrhills, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best Turkey Ever”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We couldn't believe they smoked their own turkeys and their own ribs. We loved the service and the food. Portions were very generous, too.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leora Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
299 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 394 helpful votes
“I miss Blitches but Bubba's will do!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

I really loved Blitches when I travel on I-10 either east or west. Since it closed I've come to like BUbba's. the country buffet is good. The Bar B Q is great. Will continue to stop on my way to Ft. Walton/Destin and back to Jax.

Helpful?
1 Thank nole38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The first time I went to this place, I thought it was a "mom-and-pop" place and would be just so-so. Well, it is a "mom-and-pop" inasmuch as it is not a chain but I was surprised by the quality of the food and how attentive the wait staff was.

I've gone back there several times and the food, service and hospitality is consistently good. It's not surprising that the people are friendly; that's typical for Northwest Florida. If you are visiting this area, you'll find that to be normal.

But this restaurant stands above the norm...it's not impressive from the road, the inside is not awe inspiring but the food and people are.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipley, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Been going for years”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

But, this place has slowly gone downhill. Last few visits....fries way overcooked. Ordered a burger cooked "medium" and it was way past well done. Not to mention way smaller than the bun. And to think, I used to come here specifically for the burger!! Won't be coming back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wifey83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skins & Bubbas BBQ also viewed

Chipley, Florida Panhandle
 
Chipley, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Skins & Bubbas BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing