We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful”

Manatee Springs State Park
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Chiefland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Warm spring water sends the manatees here for the winter months.
Tampa, Florida, United States
2 reviews
“beautiful”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Very beautiful Florida spring. Good SCUBA dive as well.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    103
    38
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Beautiful, peaceful, great for the whole family”
Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

A wonderful trip for the whole family. The fish were jumping in the river, but we didn't get to see any Manatee bc we went in the summer time :(
We took the kanoo out in the river and that was relaxing and gorgeous.
Our favorite was the spring where we swam. It was a a little chilly, but once you got in, it was fine! Take some goggles so you can see under the water!!!!

Helpful?
Thank Krose0725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Alright....”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

It is very relaxing - but no manatees. I suppose it was the time of the year. Either way, the spring is nice - the hike was truley calming.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nikki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Beautiful, peaceful, natural spring”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We visited on a weekday in early May, very late morning, and there were only a couple of other cars in the parking lot. In the quiet, the birds and frogs were singing. The spring itself was uncannily gorgeous, the water crystal clear, the colors hardly to be believed. We took the beautiful boardwalk trail which follows the spring run along a cypress swamp down to the Suwanee River. There, we saw, and heard, huge sturgeon jumping in the river. A great visit! Very highly recommended. Bring your bathing suit!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank pondandpines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Camping is fun!”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Camping at Manatee Springs is always a fun family time. The park has much to offer and the kids are never bored.

Helpful?
1 Thank melissa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manatee Springs State Park also viewed

 

Been to Manatee Springs State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing