We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere nice tapas”

Columbia Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Columbia Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 34 Restaurants in Celebration
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Spanish, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Front St. & Sycamore St.
Description: Family-owned and operated for more than 112 years, Columbia has earned acclaim for its old-world charm and award-winning Spanish/Cuban cuisine and wine list. Join us for century-old family recipes like Paella "a la Valenciana," Filet Mignon "Columbia," and fresh seafood specialties. Don't miss Columbia's Original "1905" Salad(R), prepared tableside with our delicious, freshly-made dressing, a 100-year-old family recipe of fresh garlic, oregano, wine vinegar and Spanish extra virgin olive oil. Be sure to sample a fine Spanish wine like Montecillo or Campillo. Relax outdoors in our cafe or courtyard, or inside our Tapas Bar or Mediterranean-style dining rooms filled with hand-painted tiles and family heirlooms. Casual attire is fine, but we don't allow sleeveless shirts on men. We are a sister to the Columbia in Tampa's Ybor City, founded in 1905. Children's menu available. Open 365-days a year, including all holidays.
Anstruther, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere nice tapas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

The service in this beautifully located restaurant was very attentive, and they knew the menu well which helped with ordering. We chose to sit outside which was fine once the cigar smokers had gone. Would visit again, and recommend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skybird2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    849
    383
    128
    70
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
205 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“One of our favorites!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

After living in the Orlando area for over 15 years, every time we come back to visit, we have to go to one of our favorite restaurants. Since my husband's family is all from Spain, we LOVE the authentic Spanish dishes they serve here. One of the best is their Paella which comes in a variety of different dishes, and takes about 30 minutes to prepare but is well worth the wait! They have a variety of different seafood, steak & chicken dishes too, so there is something for every palate. We usually share one of their fantastic Tapas (appetizers) and maybe a flan for dessert if we have room. And the Churros (a Spanish pastry with cinnamon sugar) is served with chocolate, guava & caramel sauces for dipping! We are never disappointed!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DebArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Night in Celebration”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

I've eaten a few times at Columbia, and was glad to return with my wife. This restaurant has a lot of history, although little of it is at this location. Still, its fun to enjoy dishes that have stood the test of time, and been enjoyed by so many over the last 100 years. This time we ate outside, so we got to enjoy the fresh air, but we did not get the benefit of the classic latin feel of the interior. Mojitos were excellent, and certainly get you in the right mood for the evening. We also tried the Imported Sangria, which is pretty similar to basic sangria, but they make it table side and use "special" spanish red wine. It's delicious, but gone too quick. My wife ordered the paella, and I ordered a handful of tapas, following the spanish bean soup, which was excellent. The chorrizo tapa was excellent, and we saved some to toss in the paella, since the one we ordered was heavy on seafood and chicken, but no chorrizo. I expect spanish paella to use saffron, but i guess its a tough economy, because this version omitted. Still, it was tasty. No dessert this time, and although I know we missed some nice items, when the weather is nice its great to walk around Celebration and maybe get some dessert elsewhere.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SunandBoards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fancy restaurant at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant served excellent food, with friendly service at a reasonable value. Interesting and historian decor at a family owned place for generations. The grouper and red snapper were excellent. The eggplant was outstanding. The paella Valentina was also excellent. Based our sample of four meals, all the meals must be great here. As to deserts it was noticed there was no ice cream.

Helpful?
Thank Jxl_from_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Arkansas
Level Contributor
120 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Maybe not traditional Cuban....but very good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Have visited Celebration restaurant several times in past few years and found it very good. I am not an expert on Cuban food, but it was very tasty. We have not had anything go wrong....always good service and interesting dishes. The outdoor seating during mild weather is very nice.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leftygolfer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Columbia Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Columbia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing