We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The 70's called... they want their mirrors back!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mystic Dunes Resort & Golf Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mystic Dunes Resort & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Celebration
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
124 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“The 70's called... they want their mirrors back!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here for a night at the end of our WDW vacation. The grounds were impressive on the drive in and the place looked really nice. It's absolutely huge - tons of buildings and we had to drive half a mile or so into the resort just to get to the check-in office. We had booked two units and they weren't ready when we checked in so we had to wait. When we finally got to our units they had upgraded us to a 2-bedroom unit instead of the one bedroom we had booked. Well, we wouldn't have needed two units if we'd known that, but such is life. It was cheap anyway, only $44/night. Anyway, when we walked into the unit the first thing I noticed is these people need to go shopping for some new decor! Well, they need to go shopping for some decor period! Talk about stark empty walls, empty bookcases. And a green leather couch? What? I got a little more nervous when I walked into the bedroom to discover green carpet. The carpet had a few stains but what was more shocking than the carpet was the bathroom! There are literally mirrors covering every wall of the bathroom (and another big one above the bed). On either side of the glass-doored shower stall were vanities with mirrors. There was also a big spa tub in the bathroom. The toilet is in its own separate room with a door but the bathroom itself has no door! So when you're showering you have absolutely no privacy because again it's a clear glass door separating you in the shower from the rest of the bathroom/bedroom. This may not bother some people but it does bother me.

Overall it was a decent place but it definitely needs to be updated. And holy crap, take down some of those mirrors people!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Mystic Dunes Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at Mystic Dunes Resort. We apologise if the apartment decor was not to your liking. We would like to assure you that we are in the process of a full refurbishment and all rooms will eventually be updated and modernised. We regret if this has caused you any inconvenience. We hope that you had an otherwise pleasant stay, however, and that you will consider us for your future bookings and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    853
    786
    377
    251
    216
See reviews for
1,307
479
28
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clifton Park, NY
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We were visiting the Orlando area to watch our sons play in the Russ Matt college baseball tournament. We needed a hotel close to I-4 that had enough space to spread out for a week and enough amenities to fill up our downtime. Mystic Dunes was a great choice.

Our room was huge. The bathroom itself was as big as many hotel rooms we've had in the past. There was a 50" television and sectional sofa in the living area. We had a full kitchen although we didn't use it. The master bedroom had a king bed and the second bedroom had two queen beds and its own full bath. The king bed was a pillow top. Slept like babies. I'd guess the whole room was 1500 sq ft.

There were 4 pools although we only used the big one with the Tiki bar. There was a two story slide into the pool and a waterfall. The pool furniture was like new. Very nice. We didn't try the golf course on the property but it looked immaculate.

The only negative was manageable... At checkin, we were directed to a welcome desk where we were asked to attend a timeshare pitch. It wasn't a hard sell at that point as I declined to attend the sales pitch meeting. But it made the whole checkin process seem a bit slimy.

We'll probably stay there again next year as we liked the space and it was a lot of room for the price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterKalish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Great place .. but this was week 2 , and the first was at Grand Beach - so not as nice. But we had a 2-bedroom (and so a lot of not-used space).

I note that others give the place good reviews, and I will agree. They provided bus service to Disney, which we took. They had a big parking lot, if you came to the area with a trailer. It is a huge resort (and so loses one really great thing of Grand Beach: the opportunity to chat with others - while we were there, there seemed to be little of it aside from own-groups, and we really did not make contact with others as a result).

Beautiful golf course, etc etc. Highly recommended ... but not using Diamond Resorts points! Get there through some other means, and DO NOT attend their marketing spiel!

Room Tip: We had no option of choosing - we were assigned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug-1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

New Diamond Resort owner traveling on complementary Interval International exchange. That being said, I called a couple of days before arrival to ask for a unit close to a pool ( there are 4 pools on property) and an updated unit. I had read some of the reviews here and was somewhat concerned what I would find. Arrived a few hours before checkin time but did the paperwork and returned later for keys. Reception area was crowded and loud....mainly due to numerous children not being controlled by parents (after all, we are at "the House of the Mouse". Was given Ground floor unit which normally would not be a first choice for me, but balcony was several feet above the level of the walkway so we did not feel like we were in a goldfish bowl. Unit was clean, everything worked, but was definitely NOT a refurbished unit. Dishes, flatware and glasses for 8..
only suggestion would be that they provide a set of plastic glasses for use in bathroom or by the pool. Plenty of good quality towels in the room. Abundant towels provided poolside...a bit worn but served their purpose. This resort was purchased by Diamond Resorts about a year ago...it WILL get updated, but it cannot happen overnight. This is a huge resort and I cannot imagine staying there without use of a car. Last but not least, this is a timeshare NOT a hotel! Although there is food delivery available from the onsite Kenzie's Restaurant, you will not get daily room cleaning and towel exchange...If you are staying more than one week you will get room cleaning at the end of each week....They tell you to run the dishwasher before you leave the unit AND strip the beds....I understand the dishwasher, but really....strip the beds? That was a bit excessive and I intend to send a letter to Steve Cloobeck, CEO of Diamond Resorts about that and a few other points. Wireless is decent at the pools and in the Reception area but not to be expected in the units at this time. I have stayed at two other Diamond Resorts in the Orlando area and the wireless was NOT free there and I have a suspicion that when it is installed at Mystic Dunes, it will not be free there either....I do not think that is acceptable in this day and age. All said, I will return to Mystic Dunes again....the two bedroom unit was huge and the beds were very comfortable...the pools were relaxing....great vacation!

Room Tip: Ask for a building near one of the pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erlandsdottir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petoskey, Michigan
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at friends condo for couple days. This place is gated and beautiful. The bed was comfy had a large whirlpool which i loved. They have about 4 pools and lots of activities. Very close to Orlando which is convenient for theme parks. Only complaint is the walls are VERY thin could hear everything going on in next room and outside window-so bring earplugs.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank im_dawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Grove, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Mystic Dunes. We were there for 3 nights only but it was fun for us. We have a 2 bedroom condo even though it was just myself and my husband traveling but it was very spacious and the master ensuite was pretty cool with the jacuzzi tub and walk-in shower. Ever watched TV from the shower before? The rooms do need renovations which we understand Diamond is working on. Ours had a few upgrades but the main thing is that it was very clean and the beds at Diamond properties are ALWAYS super comfy and we love that! Plus the sheets and towels are great.

We did do a round of golf on their golf course and that was pretty nice. We are not avid golfers so the course was good for us as it wasn't in pristine condition so if you made a divot or two wasn't the end of the world.

The resort is much much larger than we expected. We thought there was only 1 large building from the website but there is I'm guessing 20 - 30 condo buildings on the resort, several pools and it's all situated on about 100 acres of gorgeous land.

Room Tip: Request a renovated room when you good. If you want a great view then request a room in the big buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blondellie_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmview
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here for a whole week.. And it was really nice..Stayed in a two bedroom it had a big living room n a kitchen wit washer n dryer..The master bedroom had a jacuzzi the second room had 2 queen beds..The people who worked in the resort were very friendly.. Loved staying in this place.Felt real comfortable. Will definitely be staying here next time we come to Florida. Highly recommend. ..

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Celebration
4.1 mi away
Melia Orlando Suite Hotel at Celebration
12.9 mi away
The Point Orlando Resort
The Point Orlando Resort
#20 of 338 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 stars 4,047 reviews
7.3 mi away
Caribe Royale All Suite Hotel & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Marriott's Grande Vista
Marriott's Grande Vista
#47 of 338 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 stars 3,406 reviews
3.9 mi away
Liki Tiki Village
Liki Tiki Village
#21 of 161 in Kissimmee
4.0 of 5 stars 2,462 reviews
8.0 mi away
Grande Villas Resort
Grande Villas Resort
#3 of 14 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 stars 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mystic Dunes Resort & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystic Dunes Resort & Golf Club

Property: Mystic Dunes Resort & Golf Club
Address: 7900 Mystic Dunes Lane, Celebration, FL 34747
Location: United States > Florida > Celebration
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Celebration
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mystic Dunes Resort & Golf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 652
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Orbitz, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Cancelon, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Mystic Dunes Resort & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mystic Dunes Resort And Golf Club
Mystic Dunes Resort & Golf Club Hotel Celebration
Mystic Dunes Hotel
Mystic Dunes Golf Resort
Wyndham Palms Resort
Mystic Dunes Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing