We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only so so”

Island Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 32 Restaurants in Cedar Key
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Myersville, Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Only so so”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We liked our waitress and sitting on the side porch. The food was good but not as good as we had hoped. It's not a cheap meal, and should be better.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PGD52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    71
    36
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
162 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Tons of flavor”
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

You must sit at the bar. One of the few bars in town with some real character. The escargo is good but a little heavy on the wine. They use the same sauce on clams. It makes it too soupy which is good on clams but not for escargo. The grits appetizer was outstanding. The shrimp, scallops and artichoke dinner was delicious. There were a lot of locals there and that says a lot. Probably one of the best places to eat or have a real cocktail in town.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bekntony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“New Chef, Really Good Food”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We went to the Neptune Ba at the Island Hotel, late Saturday night, after the Art's Festival and was surprise that the usual chef was not longer there. At first we were concerned but when Andy brought our food out, sorry but we no longer missed the old chef. Hubby and I had the fish sandwich and pasta, the fish was fresh, lightly breaded with a soft, warm bun. Our friend had the steak sandwich she she said was delish. Service was awesome even after a hectic festival day. Andy made us a couple of Black and Tans and we were in heaven. As you can see from the picture, there was plenty to eat and we had a great time. We will be back in October for our Annual Crab Crew gatering.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RustyKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Joyful”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Go to the bar, get some good American beer (almost an oxymoron). Great bar food with a friendly staff and equally friendly clientele. Enjoyed the bar more than the restaurant which may say more about us than the Hotel.

Great art.

Try the Beans and Berries drink

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Franklin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
121 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“What happened to the food? Not like last year!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

the service was fair and our meals poor. I asked for a hearts of palm salad. The Palm was cross cut, hidden in a mound of uninteresting lettuce and when I found the bits of palm they were like cardboard. The cost $10.00. Credit to the waitress without saying anything she cut the charge to $5.00. The fish was totally uninteresting. The wine selection poor.
The bright spot was the dessert. We went twice because we couldn't believe the cooking had fallen off that much. It had! Not sure we will go back to the Island Hotel next year.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gowney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Hotel & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Island Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing