We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes, great chowder, but that is it.”

Tony's Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 33 Restaurants in Cedar Key
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: PLEASE NOTE: Seasonal Restaurant Hours: October- November 2016 Monday thru Thursday 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM ( NOT OPEN FOR DINNER) Friday thru Sunday 11:00 AM -8:00 PM Please call ahead to verify hours before making long drives from far away.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We agree, excellent clam chowder (this is coming from Mainers). They add cayenne, which we liked, but for some, maybe too much of a bite. While the chowder is amazing, the rest of the food we had was mediocre, yet it is one of the priciest restaurants in Cedar Key. For example, the Newport salad had canned California black olives, canned pickled beets, and so forth. The shrimp were good, but too pricey. We loved the chowder so much we went back for lunch the next day and stuck to the chowder, but also got a side of fires, which were frozen and tasted freezer burned. So, all in all amazing chowder, but I would leave it at that. One more suggestion, order the water without ice as the ice tasted really bad (that old stale ice flavor).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Twar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef Eric J, Owner at Tony's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Thank you for the visit and your kind comments about our chowder. At least you found something that you enjoyed. As far as the rest, I'm wondering where I might find a olive tree or how I might plant beets to harvest for a salad. We prepare fresh everyday house and ranch dressings, cole slaw, potato salad, tarter sauce, cocktail sauce, chowder, the list goes on and on. Apparently you had to really try hard to find things that would warrant a iffy review. By the way, we truck in our ice from Gainesville Ice. No ice maker at Tony's. And lastly, read the comment from the diner just before this one. She said our prices are good as has the overwhelming majority. We will not compromise in quality for price. So sorry that your expectations could not be met. We will keep striving to give not only our best, but the best of what is available on the market today.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,462)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,198 - 1,202 of 1,462 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2012

My husband and I stopped here off season for their clam chowder after reading a billboard ad for this restaurant. Tony's has won "the best clam chowder in the world" award for three years in a row, and it is well deserved. The chowder has a delicate "kick" to it that makes it unique and very flavorful. We loved it! The desserts are wonderful, too!!!! The server was very attentive and friendly. We will be back. Good prices, too.

Thank Busyinnkeepers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef Eric J, Owner at Tony's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

The chowder really shines everyday at Tony's and no doubt that you found it worthy of all the accolades. Thank you so much for confirming to the TA community that Tony's Chowder really is the best. I always appreciate feedback from folks, especially those who know what their talking about. And, thank for for pointing out that our prices are in line with the cost of fresh seafood. There are some out there that expect a Rolls Royce for the price of a Fiesta. That's unrealistic. We will keep bringing in only the best seafood available. That's the recipe for Tony's success.
Much Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I loved it, a little spicy and nice and thick with plenty of clams. Salad was very fresh. Hubby had a fish sandwich and there was plenty of fish. He also had the chowder but didn't think it was good as I did. I might just order some to have at home.

Thank Lindaosm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef Eric J, Owner at Tony's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

So glad that you found the chowder exceptional. Thank you for the very kind review and your visit to Tony's. Greatly appreciated. Please return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We ended up at Tony's for dinner twice during our stay at Cedar Key. We tried a number of restaurants and none even begin to compare. First of all, this restaurant is clean! The wait staff are friendly efficient and knowledgeable. The quality of the food is excellent. They give good value for the money.

Then there's the chowder. Tony's Famous Chowder competed with the Best of New England and was voted the best in the entire U.S. Try a bowl and you will quickly see why!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jlaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef Eric J, Owner at Tony's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Much appreciated!! Thanks for telling the Trip Advisor community that you find Tony's the BEST!
We strive each day to give our best so we can be the best. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I've had Tony's in Ruskin,Fl, and thank you for coming each of the four years we've had the privilege to taste your wonderful clam chowder and the breaded shrimp. Tony's is the best and the most fresh seafood I didn't catch myself. :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RachelWesleyChapel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef Eric J, Owner at Tony's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

We love the Ruskin Seafood Festival and all our great chowder fans in the Tampa Bay area.
Thank you for your great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tony's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tony's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing