We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the wait” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Desert Cafe

Blue Desert Cafe
Ranked #17 of 32 Restaurants in Cedar Key
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Blue Desert Café was closed the first few days of our trip to Cedar Key - but its was worth waiting for - we had 2 or 3 take out meals off the main menu. All were really good. One night the beef tips were off the menu but they rang us back to let us know and we were able to pick other options.
We plan to eat in on our next visit - if we can drag ourselves away from the sunset at our rental apartment.
Give it a try - you'll love the food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dlynclyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    30
    9
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Key, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“No Hurry No Worry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Mmmm!!!! The food is fantastic and well worth the wait. If you want you food faster go get fast food in chiefland. This place is all about relaxing having conversation looking at all the eclectic stuff around and then your meal. Unique eatery with a very different menu than any one else on the island. Small place with only like 10 tables, making it cozy and enjoyable. When in Cedar Key you must live on their island time and at their island pace. This place is a must go to. Weekends are very busy and you might wait a bit longer. They only serve dinner and are closed on Sunday and Monday. We like to go Tuesday - Thursday and we like to go as often as possible. We refer all our visiting friends and family to Blue Desert Cafe. If you are a grumpy impatient gus you probably want to go to another restaurant. If you want great food the wait is worth it. You can bike ride or walk, parking is on the street like most of the island restaurants.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FarawayInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not worth the wait”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

We have just returned from this restaurant/cafe, which was recommended by a local, who said that everything was cooked fresh and you had to wait, but it was worth it. Our meal took 2 hours in total. There are only half a dozen tables and one waitress and chef, I presume the owners, Having found a table straight away, we waited and eventually menus arrived, no offer of drinks at that stage. 20+ minutes later we ordered. The drinks came quite quickly, followed in reasonable time by the appetiser of local clams, small but good. Now we waited, to start with it was something to talk about, then we became bored. I was on the point of "losiing it" when the mains arrived. How long does it take to do a baked potato, 6 thin slices of zucchini and a reasonable piece of tuna?? Why no additional veg?? With 2 beers the meal cost over $50. No tip, time to leave before I open my mouth.. We were only in town for one night and cannot suggest anywhere else, but there must be better.. .

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Candice2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“all meals cooked for 1 person at a time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

If you are not in a hurry this place is worth the wait for the delicious food. all food cooked just for your order only, not precooked. The place is charming, people drive from out of town just to eat there.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Way overpriced and small portions”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I decided to eat at blue desert because they had a couple vegetarian options. I got the cheese tortellini and he got sausage with black beans and rice. The food was tasty but for $18 or so each entree was way too much in my opinion. If the portions were increased I think it would be a much better value. my husband finished his meal in just a few minutes and was still hungry after. I finished my entire entrée as well and I usually always take half home. Atmosphere was alright, service was decent but just expected more for the money.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amolindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Desert Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Blue Desert Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing