We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!”

The Island Room Restaurant at Cedar Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

A must while on the island. Had the clams and savannah grouper great choice. Excellent wait staff and reasonable prices. Nice evening at a nice restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Saltshaker13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    73
    41
    29
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“STEAMED CLAMS WITH ANDOUILLE SAUCE!!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My wife and I visit Cedar Key several times a year (my clam trip). As always, dining at the Island Room at Cedar Cove is a real treat!! The steamed clams with andouille sauce is the best I have found anywhere and the crab cakes can not be beat! This restaurant overlooks the Gulf which provides a great view. Looking forward to our return trip.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveler V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A wonderful dining experience.”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Although I have eaten at the Island Room before, I had forgotten just how good it is. I took a party of four for dinner and was given exquisite service in a white tablecloth atmosphere with a view of the Gulf. The Grouper Savannah was my entree, but three of us had the crab bisque, and I recommend it. Goodmwine list with adequate choices. Definitely upscale but a good value for food, atmosphere, presentation, and service. I'll be going again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank capitalistroader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“eat with a view”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Went there for lunch. The view of the gulf and Dock Street is great. You can sit outside in nice weather. The lunch menu is varied starting with sandwiches and smaller portions of the evening menu. Prices comparable to restaurants on Dock Street. Crabcakes are delicious.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank citygirl123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Historic Inn and Restaurant”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Located in a building dating back to 1859, the restaurant has innovative dishes that take advantage of the fresh shellfish and red snapper found in local waters. The heart of palm salad uses fresh rather than canned heart of palm, something I have seldom seen. We loved the oysters Rockefeller, crab bisque and clams in garlic butter, as well as the meringue fruit dessert. We did not stay at the hotel but enjoyed the lobby and bar as well as the restaurant.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Island Room Restaurant at Cedar Cove also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing