We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Retreat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cedar Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Fenimore Mill Condos
Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Retreat”
Reviewed February 16, 2009

We just returned form Cedar Key and our stay at the Old Fenimore MIll Condo. We booked 4-B and even though the condos are older, our unit was very clean and comfortable, and the view from the porch was an everchanging delight. Bob manages the rentals with his wife and they could not have been nicer. Dinner at the Island House was good but not excellent as we expected. Cedar Key is a real find for anyone wanting just a quiet and safe place to relax and find time for yourself and you loved ones.

  • Liked — Comfortable
  • Disliked — No elevator
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    23
    8
    6
    9
See reviews for
40
39
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2009

These 2BR-2BA condos are nicely designed. The LR-DA-K area is reasonably spacious with a good coastline view beyond the good sized deck. Our unit had a matching leather 3 seat sofa, 2 seat loveseat, and chair that were well positioned for conversation or watching the TV. BRs are separated by closet and bath, which enhances privacy and limits noise transmittal. Also a good value compared to two other 2BR-2BA condos (at same or 10% higher price) I looked at in Cedar Key.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCtraveler9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookville, NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2008

Cedar Key is a wonderful place to spend a week or two. A very special place in terms of the natural surroundings and history. The Old Fenimore condos are centrally located near the downtown area. They offer nice amenities and spectacular views. Each condo has different furnishings, depending on the owner, but ours was well appointed. Recommend!

  • Liked — Great views from the balcony
  • Disliked — We were on the third story with no elevator
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank netsol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buford, GA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2008

Each of these units are individually owned, but managed by a friendly and accomodating staff. The unit we were in had the most wonderful views and was so relaxing and homey that upon our check-out we reserved the same place for next year!
Where else can you see such an amazing assortment of wild-life? We say dolphins at play from the balcony, any kind of bird that lives on the coast and even a wild pig!
This might be the best place in Cedar Key to settle for a few days.

  • Liked — The View!
  • Disliked — No Wireless
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank XanGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2008

A friend recommended these condos and she was right. The view of the gulf is terrific complete with dolphins, birds and remote islands. It is a great spot for launching kyaks (bring your own or rent one). It is very convenient to downtown and most of the restaurants. Each unit is individually owned. We stayed in 3B and it was well equipped from books to videos to wine glasses.

  • Liked — View, location, value
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreatEscaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2008

Stayed two nights on the way back to Tampa from vacation. I was born and raised in Florida and have been to most of the beaches. Cedar Key and Fenimore Mills are perfect together. Had our 3 girls with us 10, 9 and 6 and they loved our stay. From Fenimore you can walk to the beach, the brand new huge playground and all the water front shops and restaurants. You can also rent bikes to get around the island. Rented a boat one day and went island hopping with a picnic-great adventure. After boating, went back to Fenimore and the girls jumped in the pool while my husband and I enjoyed a drink. I f you like clam chowder, try Tony's-it really is fantastic (has a little spice to it.) Stayed in Unit 8B on the second level. This unit is beautifully decorated and has all the extras that you need. It is only a one bedroom with a pull-out couch but was still spacious enough for the 5 of us. Prices are so reasonable. GREAT views from the balconey!! Our family had breakfast outside both mornings- just beautiful! Seems like buildings 7,8,9 and 10 have the best views of gulf and marshes. SO MUCH wildlife to watch and so cool to see the tide come in! Other buildings have straight gulf view to the east-not quite as interesting. We loved the Fenimore so much we are actually thinking about buying a unit. Looked at about 6 units-that's why I know what the different views look like. It's easy to find the commercialized Florida beaches but hard to find "Old Florida". Cedar Key has the Old Florida and Old Fenimore Mills has all the amenities. Whether we buy or not, we will definitely be back.

  • Liked — Great location. Awesome views.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaNative03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deep south
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2007

Just returned from a 5 day stay in Cedar Key at Old Fenimore Mill Condos. We were at the Sea Food Festival. Had a good time. Been there before and stayed once at Fenimore Mill. This time stayed at Unit 8B. Pleasant and well equipped. Arrived on Wednesday night and by Friday I had begun to itch on my arms and legs. Suspected bugs while fishing. By Saturday my arms and legs were covered and my wife began to itch. By the time we left on Monday, we were both covered with what we learned was FLEA BITES. The condo rental units appear to be pet friendly. Spoke to the manager on checkout and he didn't appear concerned but said he would call the exterminator. He said new laws prevent routine visits and he would call the exterminator.

Still itching. Don't know how to prevent something like this but certainly think that the management should make sure that they have an exterminator visit after each rental. Like the condos but am hesitant to return.

Helpful?
4 Thank jetjockga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cedar Key hotels
0.5 mi away
Beach Front Motel
Beach Front Motel
#4 of 5 in Cedar Key
193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cedar Inn
Cedar Inn
#3 of 3 in Cedar Key
25 reviews
0.1 mi away
Natures Landing Condominium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cedar Cove Beach & Yacht Club
Show Prices

Been to Old Fenimore Mill Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Fenimore Mill Condos

Property: Old Fenimore Mill Condos
Address: P.O. Box 805, Cedar Key, FL 32625-0805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Cedar Key
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Cedar Key
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Old Fenimore Mill Condos Hotel Cedar Key

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing