We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bird watching paradise”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cedar Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Fenimore Mill Condos
Saint Cloud, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Bird watching paradise”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed in unit 10-E, which faces the back waters. My one hope for our week long stay was to see a pair of roseate spoonbills. Within five minutes of arrival, my daughter stepped out on the balcony and pointed out a pink bird soaring overhead. All week long we had great views of the spoonbills coming and going, and we enjoyed watching the tides shift throughout the week, bringing with them a great variety of bird activity. The condo has a loft bedroom and full length glass windows, so you can see birds from all levels.

The unit was well stocked with pans, bowls, dishes, utensils, and we were able to buy most of what we needed for eating in at the little grocery store a short walk away. I originally thought I would have preferred facing the Gulf more directly, but am so glad we chose this unit. If you are a bird lover, I would highly recommend this unit, since it is so high up above the trees and directly faces so much bird activity. Our unit was very quiet--very little traffic in the other condos in the unit, and even when people were there, we didn't hear them.

Room Tip: For bird watching, units facing the back bayou and up high are best. For direct views of the open G...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank danakx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    23
    8
    6
    8
See reviews for
39
39
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We have been to Cedar Key many times and usually stay at Park Place which is very nice but we decided to try somewhere different this time. We chose unit 2D at Old Fenimore Mill Condos. The unit was beautifully decorated and very clean. It had everything in it. The deck was fantastic, we spent almost the whole weekend out there watching the dolphins and birds. There was a fantasic full moon and got some great shots of it as well as the sunrise. It was so peaceful and quiet. Park Place overlooks the town beach and park so when your on the balcony you are watching mostly people. Here we could only see the gulf and surrounding islands. It was the most relaxing place. We went to dinner one night but cooked out the other and other than one trip to the dock for breakfast, we pretty much stayed at the condo!! We will return!!

Room Tip: Beautiful views on Gulf side and lots of dolphins to watch
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raymiesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
121 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Last year we visited Cedar Key and The Old Fenimore Mill Condo and liked it so much we made a slightly longer repeat visit this past March.
We were welcomed and then left to our own devices. If we had questions helpful answers were given. Be warned there are no movie houses, the food market borders on minimal, however, it's good in a pinch as the closest good super market is approx 25 miles which makes one plan ahead.
There are three restaurants that come to mind. Next door 'The Island room at Cedar Cove' Tony's with his World (seriously Google it!) famous clam chowder and the Island Hotel which has gone off this year.
Seriously, if you are looking for a comfortable visit with views of the water. This is for you. Be aware the water is the color of tea. Color depends how much tanin comes down the Suwanee River which drains from the Okefanokee Swamp. The water is clean, clear and has a slight brown color.

Room Tip: The condos are walk up and the first floor of condos is on the second floor as the condos are on sti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gowney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
198 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Have stayed in a lot of places along the gulf coast, but Cedar Key is special. We've been very pleased with two units at Fenimir Mills. This year we stayed in 2 D. The kitchen is really well equipped, with good numbers of glasswear, dishes, etc. Master bed is comfy. The unit even has a wine cooler, which we really appreciated. Nice tv, great adirondack chairs, gulf view to watch the dolphins frolic. If you are bringing kayaks this is also a good location, as you can paddle over to the islands or go back in the marsh/bay area easily. It was clean and ready for us to get into when we arrived. The last time we were here we stayed in the last unit on the marsh side, which was great for bird watching, but kind of a pain for the kayaks.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank velagato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed in unit 1C which was 2 BR 2 BA. We had a lovely view of the gulf from the balcony. Very spacious and nicely furnished (king bed, 2 twin beds, living room with large flat screen, dining table, kitchen appliances, washer/dryer). Walking distance to Dock Street. The only negative thing was that the code they gave us for the pool/hot tub did not work. Maybe they change it daily? Anyway, would stay here again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a month's visit to Old Fenimore Mill Condos. I had some reservations on reading the reviews but our experience at other hotels/ resorts has shown us to take the happy medium. I am SO glad we did. From the beginning, Bob, in the office,was so helpful suggesting condos to look at online and advising us on sorts of issues, which probably seemed quite trivial to him, but for us, coming from UK , were quite important. Our condo,3F Aqua Vista,was delightful. Overlooking the gulf, it was spacious, well equipped and spotlessly clean. We loved Cedar Key. It was quiet, peaceful and the residents very friendly and helpful. I would agree with a previous reviewer who suggests ones experience probably depends on which condo one rents, but 3F was excellent.My only minor criticism was that some condos are pet friendy and I was disappointed that several owners / guests did not leash their dogs and several times, failed to clean up after them.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
292 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We rented 10B as we were in town for the seafood festival. It faces the back bayou and not the bay but you can see many birds as the tide ebbs. The unit was clean but not luxury as advertised by any means. The sheet on the bed was torn in places. The TV was fuzzy and not a flat screen which my husband complained about. The TV in the bedroom did not have a remote to it. We made breakfast in the unit and realized there was no frying pan or griddle, just a very small cast iron pan. We called the rental office and they loaned us a small electric frying pan. Bring your own dish soap and sponge to wash dishes unless everything you use can go into the dishwasher....once again we went to the rental office to ask to buy some - no supermarkets on the key. The manager gave us some soap and a sponge in a glass. Suggestion to ask what exactly is going to be in the suite when you rent it to save yourself the hassle. Two flights of stairs to enter and leave so you need to consider this if you have special needs. All in all, this was an ok place to stay but would try somewhere else if we ever come back.

Room Tip: There are 10 units. Select the lower numbers if you would like to see the sun come up over the wate...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 57Lulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cedar Key hotels
0.5 mi away
Beach Front Motel
Beach Front Motel
#4 of 5 in Cedar Key
186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Natures Landing Condominium
0.1 mi away
Cedar Cove Beach & Yacht Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cedar Inn
Cedar Inn
#3 of 3 in Cedar Key
25 reviews
0.3 mi away
Island Place
Island Place
#8 of 12 in Cedar Key
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Fenimore Mill Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Fenimore Mill Condos

Property: Old Fenimore Mill Condos
Address: P.O. Box 805, Cedar Key, FL 32625-0805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Cedar Key
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Cedar Key
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Old Fenimore Mill Condos Hotel Cedar Key

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing