We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Island Place
Ocoee, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights with our 6yr old and loved it. Got the 1 bedroom, had so much space for the little one to roam. Full kitchen, balconey over looked the pool and ocean. Right at the dock, so we watched boat come and go all day. So peacfull. We really didn't need our car, we bike the entire island our whole stay. Tony's is the best place to eat on the island. Rent a boat for $20 an hour and explore! Island Hoppers will give you a map, and you can find sandy beaches that are deserted to play on! Will be back!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xena6174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    29
    7
    7
    4
See reviews for
27
41
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2010

Its location is great but for the price that's about it!. Dear Owners lower your prices or update !

For $160.00 it was over priced & a rip off. (Priced like a Ritz Carlton/ Hard Rock). The so called "Suite" was completly out dated. Floor tile, bathroom & kitchen more like a 1970 condo (I think the stove was from 1960). The queen bed we had was horrible -old with springs (side note-No King suites in the entire place).

The nice things, it's close to Dock Street, it's beach side and the luxury of soft breezes blowing through your hair.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mkemling2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2009

We had a waterfront accommodation with a balcony. It was very beautiful. There is a noisy bar (Coconuts) that can be annoying at times, if you're wanting peace and quiet on the balcony. However, the lights from the bar reflect on the water at night, making it pretty to look at. We heard the people right next door to us real easily. They were talking with a normal tone of voice next door, on the other side of our bedroom. I had trouble going to sleep because of it, even with my earplugs in. Our unit had a very loud refrigerator that needs to be updated. It also had a lot of dust throughout the place.... Overall, it was pleasant.... noisy, tranquil, and quaint. We may or may not stay there again. Little inconveniences of noise (bar, neighbors, and refrigerator). Staff was great.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goldicrawford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
91 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2009

Island Place is in a great location, however the the room we stayed in was in need of redecorating. The walls in these condos are very thin and you can hear everything in the next door apartments.
We stayed in apartment 210 which is actually up for sale by it's owner so this may be the reason for the poor decoration.
Siitng on the deck watching the antics of the Pelicans and the Seagulls was a high point.
Cedar Key is a very quiet spot so ideal for a chill out experience

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — In need of decoration, noise from next door apartments
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WizardBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillett, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2008

We have stayed here 16 times. Either at Christmas or in March. Our daughter has grown up in the years that we have stayed here. We have stayed in many of the units, which have always been wonderful. the manager treats us like old friends and makes us feel very welcomed. We love all the cats because we miss our cats at home. Cedar Key is a nice laid back place in Florida. We can not wait to get back.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank MKleiber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2007

We love the Island Place. We've stayed at the island Place on several occasions in various rooms and enjoyed ourselves everytime. We found the staff to be friendly, courteous, and helpful. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and homey. The new flat screen in unit 106 is great for you sports fans.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dunninYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, FL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2007

This is our seventh visit to Island Place, all in room 107, right on the water. Once again we were not disappointed with the serenity, peacefulness, quiet, and relaxation. My wife and I come every year to celebrate our wedding anniversary and have never been disappointed. No fast food, no video establishments, no miniature golf, no movie theaters, etc. Sometimes not even a cell phone signal. Just great one on one time with my bride! We'll be back an eighth time!!!!

Janet and Robert Obara

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank rfo1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cedar Key
0.2 mi away
Beach Front Motel
Beach Front Motel
#4 of 5 in Cedar Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.3 mi away
Natures Landing Condominium
0.2 mi away
Cedar Cove Beach & Yacht Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
No photo provided
Withlacoochee Motel
#2 of 2 in Inglis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Island Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Place

Property: Island Place
Address: 1st and C Streets, Cedar Key, FL 32625
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Cedar Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Cedar Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Place 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Gulf of Mexico. We have 30 units, all owned by different owners, meaning each are decorated completely different and unique. We have a Salt Water Swimming Pool and a Hot Tub (not salt water). We also offer 1 or 2 Bedroom Units. We Rent by the Day ~ Week ~ Month. Hope you are having a fabulous day and hope to see you soon. The Management Team at Island Place Condo Rentals Located in the relaxing, laid back town of Cedar Key, Florida.Call today to see what specials we may have going on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Island Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Place Hotel Cedar Key

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing