We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faraway Inn”
Review of Faraway Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cedar Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Faraway Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Cedar Key
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Zephyrhills, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Faraway Inn”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This Inn has been my & our run-to-place for many years. Being Pet friendly is 2nd to our needs which are always satisfied. We want to escape the every day routines, stresses and ordeals o life and this is where we go...to reboot ourselves. Perfect every time, rooms are fantastic, always and Stacy & Wendy & Steve treat us like family(we are!!). Doreen & Oliver are our closest friends and OUR family. There is so much to do in the area or nothing. We love the no-commercialism of the area, it's fishing town atmosphere and it laid back life. No pressures. We have recommended it to many and always will!

Room Tip: The Gulf View room are good for starters and then the cottages are very good for privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doreen B, Owner at Faraway Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
You are no longer guests but you are lifetime members of the Faraway Inn family. We enjoy seeing you each time you seek R&R. We like when you bring your sweet kitty cat but know she is not happy any place but her home. We thank you for sharing your special visits with us when you are here for birthdays and anniversary celebrations. You know we are always open to ideas and suggestions you may have to improve your stay as well as the stays of others. Until we see you again.
Peace Happiness and Love Always,
Doreen & Oliver & Our TNR Island Cats (Meow)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    64
    9
    4
    8
See reviews for
60
163
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We just spent a week here for our 25th anniversary and it was the greatest! Everyone is very friendly and they treat like family. They have canoes-kayacks and bikes for all to enjoy! The gazebo offers a spectacular view of the gulf! This has been a trip we will remember forever! Thank you all for sharing this special event in our lives with us! You have went above and beyond making our trip very special! We will be back soon!

Room Tip: All rooms are very cozy and clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ladybeth68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doreen B, Owner at Faraway Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
We are so pleased we were able to make your week stay a wonderful one. Celebrating your 25th anniversary is a big deal and we are so honored to have been able to serve you and make it a 25th anniversary to remember. We hope to have you visit again for your 26th. We thank you for supporting mom and pop business in Cedar Key. Your stay also supported 4 local households and our local volunteer Trap Neuter Return program.
Happiness and Health,
Doreen and Oliver Bauer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagler Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
107 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Stayed here for our 1st trip to Cedar Key. It is a wonderful laid back place,great location and it is right on the Gulf of Mexico (not on the back bayous as some are but claim they are). We booked the Gulf view rooms which were a bit pricey $120 a night + 12 pet fee but the other rooms only had full size beds. Room was clean and comfy. Loved the fact that we had our own covered porch and right across from us was a large patio with a covered area with tables, chairs, and swings and a BBQ where you could get the breeze and watch the sun go down. They have a dog grooming area which was great as our golden retriever decided to bath in the ocean and then roll in the sand and they provided doggie towels. Staff is so friendly and helpful. Will definitely be back for another visit. PS> they provide the free use of kayaks and bikes.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarawayInn, Owner at Faraway Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
So glad you had a nice stay. Our goal at Faraway Inn is to make all our guests both two legged and four legged feel welcome. We look forward to your return visit. If we can ever do anything to make your stay more comfortable please do not hesitate to ask. Health and Happiness!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We were in love with this little town. We biked and bird watched. The Inn is on the water and comfy. We stayed two nights and felt it was just enough to explore and enjoy. It was too windy to se their kayaks but that would have been fun too!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bikerchik59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doreen B, Owner at Faraway Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed your visit to Cedar Key and thank you for choosing our Faraway Inn to stay. We are so sorry you did not get to enjoy the kayaks or canoes due to windy weather. We hope that you visit our area again and choose our mom and pop Faraway Inn. Please tell your friends about us when they are in need of some R&R or just want to escape to a place that takes a step or two back in time.
Respectfully,
Doreen & Oliver Bauer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

we travelled with our dog this year and needed a place for a week to stay in Florida, found the Faraway Inn onliine. We booked about a month before for the week and got there and was greeted with the nicest people.....our accomodations met our needs and everyone was so helpful, we fully enjoyed this vacation spot and so did our dog. We will go back to this place, for sure so much quaintness and things to do.

Room Tip: we selected the effiency and found it the best for our needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank blueeyeshavingfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarawayInnCedarKey, Owner at Faraway Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2015
I know this review was written in April 2012 but I did not know at that time I could respond to reviews. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad that we were able to make your stay enjoyable. We hope that you visit again soon. We have made many fun changes inside and outside as we like to keep things clean, fresh and interesting. You can still call us to reserve your stay or you can now reserve online. We are still super pet friendly. Our ladies are fabulous and work hard to make you comfortable and provide you with super clean cottages and rooms.
Respectfully,
Doreen & Oliver Bauer owners/innkeepers since November 2000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Ridge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

If you are looking to relax and slow down.. Faraway Inn and Cedar Key is the place! This was our second time in two months staying at Faraway Inn. We LOVE IT! The cottage was clean and comfortable with "Old Florida" charm. The kitchen was perfect for making our own meals to save some money. They even have a nice grill as well as a smoker and fish cleaning station (for your catch of the day;) and you can help yourself to their little herb garden!!! The people at Faraway are just wonderful, so accommodating and VERY PET FRIENDLY(my babies were treated like royalty)! But I think our favorite part is the patio area that over looks the gulf with the most peaceful sunsets! I predict we will return and as often as possible.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bornvol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Florida
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stoped in Cedar Key for one night on our way back from the Florida Panhandle. We had been to Cedar Key previously but had always stayed in a condo since our stay had been longer. But we found Faraway Inn to be quite comfortable and well located. We had a cottage overlooking the sound and the community chairs. It was delightful to sit a sunset and talk to other travelers. The cottages are prepared for long term stays with kitchenette facilities.
We did not bring our dog, but this place is very dog friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edward W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cedar Key
0.1 mi away
Beach Front Motel
Beach Front Motel
#4 of 5 in Cedar Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.5 mi away
Natures Landing Condominium
0.5 mi away
Cedar Cove Beach & Yacht Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Island Place
Island Place
#7 of 12 in Cedar Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
22.1 mi away
Nature Coast Inn
Nature Coast Inn
#1 of 2 in Inglis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
23.4 mi away
No photo provided
Withlacoochee Motel
#2 of 2 in Inglis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faraway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faraway Inn

Property: Faraway Inn
Address: 847 3rd St, PO Box 370, Cedar Key, FL 32625-5045
Location: United States > Florida > Cedar Key
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Cedar Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests enjoy free use of canoes,kayaks, bicycles, grills, wifi, movies, books, games and more. Golf cart rentals available for our guests. We are located in a residential area within a 5 minute walk to down town and Dock Street. We are very pet friendly with no size or breed restrictions on dogs. We have ample boat parking/rinsing on site. Clean, comfortable, ground floor motel units and cottages equipped with a minimum of fridge, micro, coffee maker, toaster, cable, heat/air/fans. All pets are welcome as long as their humans are well behaved. Your stay helps to support mom and pop business and four local households and our community volunteer Trap Neuter Return program. Thank you for viewing our site and considering your stay with us. Faraway Inn was built in the early 1950's on the original site of the 19th Century Eagle Pencil Company Cedar Mill. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Faraway Hotel Cedar Key

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing