We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rather disappointed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ken's Cedar Keyside Diner - CLOSED

Ken's Cedar Keyside Diner
Price range: $3 - $17
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Waitstaff
Description: We are a DINER, serving breakfast and lunch daily. Friday and Saturday evenings we open late 11pm to 2am serving breakfast and sandwiches. We are not a seafood restaurant, there are already plenty of those on the Island. We are a DINER serving your typical breakfast and lunch menu, however, we do offer some seafood items during lunch. We are priced right and the portions are plentiful and the food is fresh. We have a 50's theme with classic cars and music.
Flagler Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Rather disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

I had read reviews on this restaraunt and was looking forward to breakfast at Kens- but they fell short of expectations.
The service was good, the decor was kind of fun and we got good coffee right away. That's the good part- then when the food arrived it went downhill. I had the biscuits and gravy. I love biscuits and gravy- these weren't the best. The biscuits were good but the gravy lacked much flavor. My wife had bacon- no flavor, eggs- served runny even though ordered over medium, toast that was slightly burnt, and potatoes that had been sitting around for a while.
All in all- not how I want to start my day. Priced to high for less than mediocre food.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Donn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    45
    16
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hoover, Alabama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“it was fine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

So many recommended that french toast so I tried it - I'm not that big on french toast so I didn't finish it, but I am sure it was well-made. Uh, that's about it. I was really depressed being in Cedar Key - just did not like the town at all - but I guess that's my problem. This place has a decent view Service was fine, liked the decor. I might be back, but I just don't care to return to cedar key. I'd rather be in destin or even sarasota where i have family, but i really like destin.....

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank hoovermom j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Go here for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

When I went here for lunch I was not ready for more seafood and Ken's has a good lunch menu which includes burgers (great tasting) a Ruben and other items you look for on a lunch menu.
Again as in most places here on Cedar Key great service and reasonable prices. Go here for lunch.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ken F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dacula, Georgia
Level Contributor
694 reviews
497 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“A Diner with a Gulf View!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Bottom line, this is more of a traditional diner that has a great Gulf view, both with both inside and outside seating. This isn't a seafood place, although you can can get a few things, this is more of an omelet for breakfast and a burger or blue plate for lunch kinda place. We enjoyed it and the people working there, so I would recommend it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jgwisdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aston, PA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“50's doo wop eatery!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

When you hear "ERRRUPPP!!" that means "Order UP" (order is ready) for your server to get your food and bring it to you...but ONLY at Ken's Cedar Keyside Diner sits right over the water. The decor is 1950's rock & Roll, and it like walking onto Grease the Movie. The food is outstanding from Burgers to Breakfast, all with catchy titles (try the "Blown Engine" breakfast!) Ken and the staff are the best, and it's an experience you won't forget!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shock4952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ken's Cedar Keyside Diner also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing