We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific Breakfast!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ken's Cedar Keyside Diner - CLOSED

Ken's Cedar Keyside Diner
Price range: $3 - $17
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Waitstaff
Description: We are a DINER, serving breakfast and lunch daily. Friday and Saturday evenings we open late 11pm to 2am serving breakfast and sandwiches. We are not a seafood restaurant, there are already plenty of those on the Island. We are a DINER serving your typical breakfast and lunch menu, however, we do offer some seafood items during lunch. We are priced right and the portions are plentiful and the food is fresh. We have a 50's theme with classic cars and music.
St. Augustine, FL
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Terrific Breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

My husband said the coffee here was the best he'd ever had. And our breakfast was above average - way more than I expected. I had the Crunchy Almond French Toast. It was terrific. My husband had an omelet he really enjoyed. Great water view. Worth climbing the stairs to go back to the 50's decor and yummy breakfast.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Piacere_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    45
    16
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Key, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

I work with the public in Cedar Key, and I'm always telling people to stop at Ken's for breakfast or dinner. It has great home-styled cooking with a friendly staff and great view over the Gulf and Cedar Keys National Wildlife Refuge. It sits with a convenient and lovely view of the pier and Atsena Otie (the original Cedar Keys, now refuge). You must stop here if you visit Cedar Key!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MickiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Breakfast delight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We had such a good breakfast on Tuesday that we returned on Wednesday for another. Good food and pleasant staff serving us.
We would definitely go there again if we go ever back to Cedar Key.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nottinghamshirelad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Key Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

I have to start with a disclaimer, I know Ken and Cathy personally and they are friends, but so are the other 720 people in Cedar Key...Having said that, Ken's Keyside is our choice when we go out to breakfast by ourselves or with the many guests we have visit throughout the year...Ken and Cat's place is clean, has a a great 50's atmosphere, and Ken makes a cooks a very good breakfast...When it's not too hot we like to sit on the back deck and watch the dolphins and the pelicans...There is not a bad place to eat in Cedar Key but we prefer "the diner" for breakfast...Ken's just has a good combination of staff, location, and quality...Their lunches are good too...

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PirateCapt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Returning!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Had an excellent breakfast there last month and going back in 3 weeks.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank D/P-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ken's Cedar Keyside Diner also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing