We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So cool, great view.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Dog Bar & Tables

Black Dog Bar & Tables
Ranked #1 of 1 Nightlife in Cedar Key
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cedar Key's most comfortable bar featuring the Island's best wine lists, over 150 types of beer on the wall, the only cigar humidor, and the world's most interesting customers. Come to lounge, stay to mingle.
Florida
Level Contributor
105 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“So cool, great view.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

Enjoyed good wine, good service, fun place. Great selections of beers.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank BSBFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    15
    4
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Newfield, Maine
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Bluegrass on a Sunday with a great vino - nothing better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

This is exactly the kind of place my husband and I were looking for - a cozy bar with live music and a great atmosphere. Bluegrass is offered every afternoon at 4 and it was a perfect way to spend a rainy afternoon. The professional band knew its stuff and included a mandolin, guitars and an upright bass. The bartenders were very friendly and helpful about suggesting wines to try, and a nice bock beer for my husband. The crowd was also to our liking - mostly boomers in their 50s and older, like us.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Minimainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oley Valley
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This place and it's people (and dog) are the reason we travel to Cedar Key”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

We have traveled to Cedar Key every year since the Black Dog opened and to our surprise, it keeps gettting better. We always enjoy ourselves and always feel welcome. It is evident that everyone who walks through the door feels the same way.
Sitting in a barber chair drinking nice wine while my husband has access to all of his favorite beers while I watch pelicans...what could be better. Our little dog, Jezabell, is in LOVE with Otis, the owners Labradoddle.
Sometimes that have fabulous music too. Well worth the trip.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kitandlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern Michigan
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“LOVE this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

This place has an amazing selection of bottled beers. I believe they have about 94 different beers available, and the selection is amazing. Roseanna, a bartender here, gave some great recommendations on the beer too. She also makes a mean sangria, and I immensely enjoyed a glass of the red. There's a great wraparound deck, with great views. Otis is a sweet dog. I miss Black Dog Bar already!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank kellyMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Simons Island, GA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fun place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

Stopped in 3 days in a row. Say hello to Connie, Rosie and Otis of course. Relax and have great conversation with staff and customers. About a gazillion different beers and wines.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank crab99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Dog Bar & Tables also viewed

 

Been to Black Dog Bar & Tables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing