We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was wonderful”

The Pickled Pelican Bar and Eatery
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Gainesville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Everything was wonderful”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We started as a table of four and then had 5 additional friends join us - and the staff were great. Everyone thought their food was very good and it all came out quickly for a big group. Drinks were great. Good prices. We've always had good service here. Just remember Cedar Key rolls up their sidewalks for dinner at 9pm so dont be surprised if they are putting chairs on tables before you are finished eating (well before 9 by the way). But this is a very good place to eat (no tvs for people that like to enjoy a meal and talk to each other vs watching tv).

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MrsDiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    72
    35
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A fun find on the water”
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

The Pickled Pelican was a fun find on Dock Street! We were a bit concerned after walking into the front door past stinky garbage cans, but were pleasantly surprised once inside. It is a small place that appears to be freshly painted in fun "Florida" colors, and the restrooms sport fun decor. We originally sat outside on their deck until a cool wind forced us inside. The outdoor tables and stools were also in need of renovation. Jean Louise was very accommodating and moved us easily. The food was good, and the two couples of were able to easily split two dishes and were satisfied. Good food and fun atmosphere.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank DeeDee353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Can't imagine”
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

What the other reviewers were thinking. After reading the other reviews decided we would give this place a try. After all the only complaint seemed to be an isolated occurrence of poor service. We ordered a variety of food some liking fish, some not. The server was very friendly and fairly attentive, since we were only one of three groups in the place. Drinks came quick and so did the food, but that was the end of the fun. All of the food was average or below. We ended with a key lime pie that was also average. Best thing in the restaurant? Big glasses of water. Sorry pelican, but you did not hit the mark.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank sydney47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great spot on the water that also happens to have good food and great service.”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

If you want to eat and drink on the dock at Cedar Key be aware that not all of the restaurants there are created equal. Cedar Key is a destination...it is not a place you stop by on the way somewhere else. So some restaurants are on the waterfront to mainly take advantage of the tourist traffic but don't really offer the food and service they should and probably wouldn't stay alive long anywhere else. We usually run over to Cedar Key for the afternoon and have been to the Pickled Pelican three or four times. This is a requisite stop for us now. The beer is cold, the calamari and marinara sauce is excellent, the view is great and the service has always been top shelf. When you are standing on the dock trying to decide where to go this would be a good choice.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Outdoorfun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozona, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Food and a View”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Seated on the upper deck, looking out over the sundrenched Gulf of Mexico with a frosty Cigar City Jai Alai, we had a delightful late lunch at this waterside establishment. We shared a plate of tasty local shrimp, which was served with the delicious house Vidalia cole slaw. Service was good, and our waitress gave us some helpful tips about what to see and do while in Cedar Key.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JEMcBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pickled Pelican Bar and Eatery also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing