We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we wanted.”
Review of Low-Key Hideaway

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cedar Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Low-Key Hideaway
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cedar Key
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
NH
1 review
“Everything we wanted.”
Reviewed February 25, 2010

My wife and I were looking for a quiet, out of the way place on the Gulf Coast. We found that in Cedar Key, and a great little place to stay. At the Low key Hideaway we had a good sized room with a king size bed, super clean, and very comfortable. Pat and Cindy were great hosts, very friendly and helpful. We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cij53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    32
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
237
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Payson
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2010

This funky place features plenty of room, neat as a pin, and hosts second to none! Sure, its a little long of tooth and old fashioned, but the new owners are working hard every day to make it something special. Be sure to spend a little time in their Tiki Bar and have Pat (or Cindy) tell you a story or two about their travels!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve-KRIM-FM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2010

We enjoyed our time at Low-Key Hideaway. Pat and Cindy are great hosts...very friendly and engaging. We stayed one week and enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere. Sunsets are gorgeous! We saw them right from our camper since we were parked right on the waterfront. We were able to bird, ride bikes, tour a state museum, and walk the small town to soak up all the charm. If you are in the area, stop and enjoy a great place.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank judyh10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE VA
1 review
Reviewed January 12, 2010

First I have to be honest, we had an inside scoop on this great place before we arrived on our way to Key West over the Christmas/New Year's holiday. The owners, Pat and Cindy Bonish made a stop at our house almost a year ago along their adventures traveling around the country with their 25' Sunline Travel Trailer. The trip to this place was 150 miles out of our way to Key West but knowing what great people Pat and Cindy are we had to stop in and check the place out.

We arrived in our Travel Trailer the day after Christmas late in the morning and Pat and Cindy met us outside and helped park our trailer in one of the 5 spots they have available for RV's (water, sewer and electric available). They took time out of the remainder of their day to show us what incredible hosts they are as we sat outside having a few drinks and then onto the deck to use the grill for some great food and more stories well into the night. Unfortunetly we only had time for one night at this spot and had to depart early the next morning.

Though we did not stay in one of the 5 rooms, I can tell you we did get a first hand look and I would highly recommend this place for a clean, cozy place to stay whether in a room or camping in your own rig. Oh yeah, can't forget the tiki bar in the back, which wasn't open during our stay but looks to be a great place to sit and have a drink while watching a great sunset.

I can tell you we will be back to make a longer stay here and will have more to report when we get the full tour of town and what's available to see and do in Cedar Key.

A great big thanks to Pat and Cindy

Happy Travels

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SEVAmarcathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit-area, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2010

This place is awesome! My fiancee and I were looking for a place to stay while traveling down to FL for some post-holiday relaxation. We stopped at the Low-Key Hideaway to rest for the night, looking for a quiet place to relax that also had some fun entertainment close by, and it turned into our final destination. The rooms are amazingly clean and are like mini-apartments, with full kitchens, flat-screen TV's and free WI-FI! I could go back just to stay in the room and get some work done in a total relaxed environment; but then I wouldn't have experienced all of the fun we had outside of the room!

Just out back are the most beautiful sunsets I have ever seen! There's an on-site BBQ grill to take some of the high cost out of vacation dining. The owners actually came over and joined us after dinner! They were totally cool and told us of their own travels, and how they ended up there.

In town, which is quite small I must add but only a short walk away, is the perfect atmosphere. Dock Street is filled with small-town styled local bars and restaurants, perfect for bar-hopping and checking out small-town island life.

If you find yourself in Cedar Key, Florida, do yourself a favor and stay here. If you're anywhere else in the world and looking for some good ole' fashioned R and R, head here! I know my fiancee and I will be heading back each year from now on, sort of our own new post-holiday tradition.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trvl-Deep-Rived
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 25, 2009

Cindy & Pat,

You guys are wonderful hosts. Rooms were perfect, well appointed, clean and the location was the best. We'll definitely be back.

Jim and Cha

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoodTimeJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 25, 2009

My wife and kids were just trying to get away from the hustle and bustle. The economy had burdened us and we needed a break. Low-Key Hideaway in Cedar Key Fl made it happen. We watched a sunset that made our whole family realize that calm still exists. There was fishing and kayaking in a quiet place were boats dont run over you. The rooms were extra clean and very large for the cost. The thing that made it totally worth it was that the owners Pat and Cindy made it a home away from home they were always there to help us in any way they could. We give it two thumbs up if you need a break.

Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank rmilz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cedar Key
1.3 mi away
Beach Front Motel
Beach Front Motel
#4 of 5 in Cedar Key
193 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cedar Inn
Cedar Inn
#3 of 3 in Cedar Key
25 reviews
1.0 mi away
Natures Landing Condominium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
No photo provided
Withlacoochee Motel
#2 of 2 in Inglis
8 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cedar Cove Beach & Yacht Club
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low-Key Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low-Key Hideaway

Property: Low-Key Hideaway
Address: 12050 State Road 24, Cedar Key, FL 32625-4796
Location: United States > Florida > Cedar Key
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cedar Key
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious king suites with patios overlooking the water. Tiki bar, relaxing hammocks and ample lounge areas along the water. A community weber grill is available to all guests. Watch the sunrise and set from your room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Low-Key Hideaway Hotel Cedar Key

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing