We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stopover!”
Review of Low-Key Hideaway

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cedar Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Low-Key Hideaway
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cedar Key
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed our first visit to this fishing village. Hotel is adorable. Location wonderful. People very friendly. The gulf sunset is beautiful. We had room 5. The purple door! Complete little apartment which was cute as a button. Everything you need down to beach towels. Would come back!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LindaSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lowkeyhideaway, Manager at Low-Key Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Very nice to hear you enjoyed your stay, maybe we can see you for more than one day next time. Sorry it took so long to respond but time just seemed to get away. Have a Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 329 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

we just returned home from 3 days at this lovely little motel. we were in room 4 was really impressed with how nice and clean it is , all you need to make your stay great. the people are great that run the place. i was walking out of my room one day a a coupe of ladies had stopped for a drink at the tiki bar, and were asking me about the place, so i just showed them my room as i was so pleased with it. we were here for the seafood festival which we come to every year, we always seem to end up somewhere that is out of business the next year and since we had made advance reservations had to scramble to fine a place. and we really lucked up. the dock is lovely to sit on and watch the mullet jump out of the water and the birds fly over head, we saw a pair of eagles. as you can tell was very happy and plan on trying to return next year for the seafood festival and the hideaway motel the cannons of lakelamd ,fl

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wendyLakeland_fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
everymilesamemory, Manager at Low-Key Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Hello to my festive friends! Thanks so much for being our tour guide at the Low Key, the ladies you showed the room to were so tickled by you and your family. I think the two of you found your favorite spot in our hanging chairs at the end of the dock, I have to say, that is my favorite spot to have an early cup of coffee in the morning. We look forward to seeing you again, maybe even before festival. Take care and Happy Halloween!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Beware that once you stay at Low-Key Hideaway either in an RV slot or in the motel, you will never want to leave....and you will probably book your next stay before leaving!
We happened upon this bright little motel a few years ago but I have never taken the time to tell the world about our find. As a frequent traveler for pleasure and business I try to think about what makes this "feel good" motel in quiet Cedar Key, Florida so special. So here it is:
*Pat and Cindy - two of the most genuine, caring, and down to earth people we can now call friends
*The Tiki Bar - it has a way of welcoming you to sit, meet the great locals and others that come by and know that you will see many on your next trip. Pat has created a visual masterpiece with every eclectic addition having a story of its own
*The sunsets - Walk out to the end of the dock, sit in a basket chair, and be amazed at the never-boring Florida sky
*The rooms - Clean, clean, clean. The touches that Cindy comes up with make you smile
*The misc. touches - bikes to use, close proximity to town, on the frequent delivery route of Island Pizzeria, on the water, secluded, birders' heaven, people, a chair for all reasons

We hope anyone that stays here enjoys the great things that we love here.

Room Tip: 4 of the 5 rooms have 2 doors...one to the road and your car and the other to a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank flkayaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lowkeyhideaway, Manager at Low-Key Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

We only have a few more days until we meet again!! Can't wait to see you both and thanks so much for the great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We're just home from two weeks touring Florida and we've seen amazing things & stayed in some great places but the highlight of the trip was out two nights at Low-Key Hideaway.What a gem this place is! From the moment we pulled up it was heaven - gorgeous tropically coloured motel style doors each with colour matched doors, lights & parking bays! The delightful Amber gave us such a warm welcome & even offered to do our food shopping for us as she was off the the store!
Beautiful room with gorgeous photos on the wall taken by the owners Pat & Cindy (We were in room 4)
Everything we could need was provided including a well supplied kitchen and a "back door" leading to a tropical garden paradise
Not to mention the boardwalk and deck out into the Gulf inlet on which this gem sits. Everyone mentions the sunsets but OH WOW THE SUNSETS
The fabbest Tikki bar has lots of gems to discover so we won't spoil it but will say we loved the company and the staff - it felt like being a local for two nights
You do feel like family - there are bikes to ride, friendly greetings all day long and people who genuinely care about your wellbeing and your stay.
Thank you Pat Cindy, Amber and the lovely gentleman behind the bar whose name I've forgotten (it was his first night but you'd never know!) We had such a wonderful time & adored Cedar Key. We will be back - two days is not enough. Heather & Daniel Cardwell UK

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
everymilesamemory, Manager at Low-Key Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

What a compliment that we were your favorite spot!! It was nice to welcome you into the Low Key family, we wish that you could have met a few more of our friends that are local here just so that you could see the dialect difference. Most people don't know that Cedar Key has a very slow southern drawl and in comparison to your fast paced accent it would have been a hoot to see you converse with our southern family. We hope we can meet again some time we would love to host the two of you for an extended stay. Be well and and stay warm over there.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

One can look back on my reviews and tell I have stayed in some pretty great places in some pretty cool locations. I am partial to Cozumel,Mexico for the view, the food, and the great people who work so hard to make it such a great place in my mind. I have found a place that makes me think twice about needing a passport. Unfortunately, it appears to be a secret that I have found out by accident and I don't want to screw the place up. It is of course the Low-Key Hideaway.
If you are looking for a place out of the way with expensive linens and the greatest food and beach in the land, look somewhere else. If you are looking for a nice, clean, comfortable room with a great Tiki Bar and the greatest Sunset...this is your place.
The couple that own this place apparently are in love with their profession. Walking around the small property they have given life and blood to make it the neatest,cleanest, coolest place around. The eye they have for photography give them the artistic ability to make this place a place you would want to not just stay....but live!
Immediately you meet them and like them. They work too darn hard to make you feel at home and to darn hard to make it the special place they have apparently dreamed of making. I was honored to see Pat and Cindys' world and life work.
We were in #5. The room was clean, cool, and had everything I needed! Even coffee for the pot in the morning. It is just a short drive to great food and live music but we ate quick and got the hell back to make sure we saw the sunset and spent time in such a special place.
Thank You Pat and Cindy for your hard work and dedication.
It is adult only. This in itself is work 500 a night.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cokerbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
everymilesamemory, Manager at Low-Key Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Oh my goodness, we had so much fun with the two of you. I wouldn't call it putting up with you, I would say getting to know your wild side. What a great review you posted and you have been to some really cool places. We will have to hear some of those stories the next time you visit. Thanks again for the kind words, Pat and I are always so honored when people enjoy the little things that we work so hard on. They seem small but your appreciation of the little things is very much a joy to us. Till next time!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is a GREAT place to get away from it all. The rooms were very clean and had everything that you needed. We felt like family while we were there. I would highly recommend Low-Key Hideaway to anyone looking for a place to relax and have beautiful sunrises and sunsets! We will definitely be back!! Pat & Cindy are totally awesome!! :o) Thanks for all that you do!!

John & Rosie Gammell
Inverness, FL

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skoobydew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
everymilesamemory, Manager at Low-Key Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Hey guys thanks for the kudos! We hope to see you next time your kayak fishing in Cedar Key. I hopefully will send you our book really soon, my friends loved you bracelets, Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We are very biased in our review but with good reason. Pat is our son and Cindy is the catch of his life. The two couldn't be any better suited for each other and it shows in everything they do. Whether or not you are family when you stay at the Low Key Hideaway it is like coming home. They are so gracious and friendly and make me so proud to be their Mom. The views of the sunsets are even better than Pat's pictures and that is pretty hard to beat. I swore I wouldn't go home unless I saw a dolphin and Pat delivered with several dolphins playing in the wake of the boat. It was spectacular. For all you seniors who are looking for that perfect apartment in the cold months this is the best. There arn't enough words to express the joy we have in seeing our son and Daughter doing such a great job and loving every minute of it. What a life. We love you guys.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
everymilesamemory, Manager at Low-Key Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

We love you too Mom!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cedar Key hotels
1.3 mi away
Beach Front Motel
Beach Front Motel
#4 of 5 in Cedar Key
200 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cedar Inn
Cedar Inn
#3 of 3 in Cedar Key
26 reviews
1.2 mi away
Seahorse Landing
Seahorse Landing
#2 of 12 in Cedar Key
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Natures Landing Condominium
1.0 mi away
Cedar Cove Beach & Yacht Club
1.2 mi away
Island Place
Island Place
#8 of 12 in Cedar Key
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low-Key Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low-Key Hideaway

Address: 12050 State Road 24, Cedar Key, FL 32625-4796
Location: United States > Florida > Cedar Key
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cedar Key
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious king suites with patios overlooking the water. Tiki bar, relaxing hammocks and ample lounge areas along the water. A community weber grill is available to all guests. Watch the sunrise and set from your room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Low-Key Hideaway Hotel Cedar Key

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing