We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great view, great service. Wow”

Kona Joe's Island Cafe
Ranked #5 of 32 Restaurants in Cedar Key
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $7
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Description: When you visit KONA JOE'S ISLAND CAFE, you're in for a treat. Experience our fresh gourmet coffee, scrumptious sandwiches and real fruit smoothies. Don't leave without a hand-dipped ice cream cone or a slice of Edie's famous Cedar Key Lime Pie. You'll love the friendly atmosphere of our cheery indoor and outdoor seating. Joe will spoil you as you enjoy your meal on our private deck, watching the pelicans play on the stunning Back Bayou.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Can't believe how lucky we were to find this place. Our first morning in town from North Carolina we sat on the back deck with our breakfast and watched a bald eagle circling above. We went back 5 times over the next 3 days. Great place to relax with good food. The owner was friendly and checked in about our food every time. Don't miss the shrimp salad on a croissant. We will be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chasmerritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ediezap, Manager at Kona Joe's Island Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Thanks for your wonderful review and for all your visits to Kona Joe's while you were in town. So glad that you felt well taken care of, and enjoyed the free bald eagle show over the Back Bayou of the gulf =). The shrimp salad on croissant is one of our signature items so we are happy you enjoyed it. Can't wait to have you come back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (432)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 226 of 432 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2014

Since everyone was raving about this place, we thought that we'd give it a try. When they tell you that they have enough meatloaf for one sandwich and then "magically" find enough for two-what does that tell you? There wasn't enough on either sandwich for a meal. The prices were high for what we got--$24.00 for lunch? I wouldn't go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ediezap, Manager at Kona Joe's Island Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Sorry you were unhappy with your meal. When we run specials we do have a limited supply, however we never intentionally "short" a customer of a full serving. We would have gladly provided another item on us had we known of your unhappiness at the time. Typically our customers are thrilled with our quality and our prices, a special and drink usually runs $9-most menu items run less. Hope you will give us another opportunity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

So glad my husband and I found this slice of heaven heading out from Cedar Key! Joe and his wife were some of the friendliest people we met on the island. His wife's crab quiche was to die for and her grits were the BEST I've ever put in mouth!! Make sure and try Joes pepper sauce too we grabbed a bottle as we were leaving. So glad we stopped here!

Thank Janice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ediezap, Manager at Kona Joe's Island Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

We are glad you stopped by on your way out of town also. Thanks for your kind words regarding the quiche-a signature menu item, the datil pepper sauce and the friendly atmosphere. These are all very important to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Had chicken salad for lunch and key lime pie for dessert,food was great,nice time eating on outside deck.great stop for breakfast or lunch

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rgreene37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ediezap, Manager at Kona Joe's Island Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Thanks for coming by for lunch and we are so pleased that you enjoyed sitting out on our deck overlooking the back bayou of the gulf. Our chicken salad sandwich is a signature item and very popular with both locals and visitors to Cedar Key. Glad you also liked our Cedar Key Lime Pie, made fresh in our kitchen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Great food!! Super soft bread, fresh food! We had chicken salad sandwich, blue crab pie, Philly cheesesteak, and chicken teriyaki. Everything was amazing!!

1  Thank Franco G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ediezap, Manager at Kona Joe's Island Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

We greatly appreciate you coming in and we are thrilled that you enjoyed all that you tried. Our quiche and chicken salad are signature items and our philly is also very popular! We truly enjoyed serving you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kona Joe's Island Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Kona Joe's Island Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing