We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Finally...great food in Cedar Key!!!!!!”

Kona Joe's Island Cafe
Ranked #5 of 32 Restaurants in Cedar Key
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $7
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: When you visit KONA JOE'S ISLAND CAFE, you're in for a treat. Experience our fresh gourmet coffee, scrumptious sandwiches and real fruit smoothies. Don't leave without a hand-dipped ice cream cone or a slice of Edie's famous Cedar Key Lime Pie. You'll love the friendly atmosphere of our cheery indoor and outdoor seating. Joe will spoil you as you enjoy your meal on our private deck, watching the pelicans play on the stunning Back Bayou.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Finally...great food in Cedar Key!!!!!!”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We decided to go to Kona Joe's for lunch on our last day in Cedar Key. Too bad we waited! I had blue crab quiche and it was wonderful. Fully of crab and other goodies. Served with fruit on the side, it was just enough for lunch. My husband had a BLT and said that the bacon was cooked the way it was supposed to be cooked for a BLT. We both got sweet tea to drink. OMG...it is so hard (outside of one's own kitchen) to find good, simple sweet tea. Tea and sugar and that's it and Kona Joe's nailed it right on the head. We both got Key Lime pie for dessert. Wonderful. It had just the right amount of tartness that Key Lime pie calls for. Had we known how good this food was, we would have been repeat customers. Simple menu and good food. The right amount of food and good prices. Make it a stop if you come to Cedar Key!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ediezap, Manager at Kona Joe's Island Cafe, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
We are glad that you found us even if it was on your last day! So glad that you loved the quiche, it is one of our signature menu items. We pride ourselves on simple, fresh brewed sweet and unsweet tea so we are glad that you liked this drink. Also thrilled to hear that you liked our fresh made Cedar Key Lime Pie. Hope you will make it back to Cedar Key soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    89
    29
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Crab Quiche!”
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

When your first taste of crab quiche bursts with crab and not egg or some filler, you know it's going to be good! My wife and I both ordered the crab quiche because it sounded so good and was something we don't normally see on a menu. It was one of the best I have ever had and when we go back, I would order it again.
The Fruit of the Forest pie was a hit! Gently warmed and served with whipped creme! Coffee was very good too.
We also enjoyed the conversation with the manager, who made some recommendations for our next trip to Cedar Key, as well as a few other customers. Sitting outside was great too.
If you don't have time to eat, stop in a get a bottle of the sauce. It goes great on burgers at home!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank DC1774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ediezap, Manager at Kona Joe's Island Cafe, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thanks for your wonderful words about our quiche, we couldn't say it better ourselves. Our quiche truly is full of good blue crab. We are also glad that you had a good time sitting in our outside dining area and talking with David. The fruit of the forest pie is a hit for our customers who like rich fruit flavor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiefland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We visited Kona Joe's after reading a review in a local online paper,

The food is made fresh and is delicious! The manager/owner is very hospitable and the place is very quaint and so befitting to the island of Cedar Key.

You can dine outside on the porch and look out onto the water or dine inside.

Whatever you chose to do, this restaurant will not disappoint.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucille R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ediezap, Manager at Kona Joe's Island Cafe, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thanks for your review and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your Kona Joe's experience! We work hard to provide fresh, delicious, high quality food. Our hospitality comes easy for us as we truly enjoy our customers and love getting an opportunity to visit with you. We try to give our customers a true Cedar Key experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“The Best Crab Quiche Ever”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Oh my, this was my second taste of the crab quiche, got it to go the first time but this time we went for lunch and sat on the back porch. It was just a little preview to our wonderful seafood festival weekend for the Crab Crew. I cant explain how wonderful this dish is and the owners are so nice and appreciative of your business. Hubby had philly cheese steak which he said was awesome. Sorry, I'm stuck on the crab quiche, wish I had a slice right now. Oh and the fresh brewed iced tea is just wonderful too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RustyKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ediezap, Manager at Kona Joe's Island Cafe, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
So thrilled that you loved our blue crab quiche and that it was a great start to your weekend for the Seafood Festival. Glad your husband enjoyed the philly! You had the perfect spot that weekend on our back porch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, FL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stopped in for breakfast and went back the same day for lunch. The food is very fresh and prepared quite well. It's rather hard to find light, fresh food in Cedar Key, with most places leaning toward fried, battered, blackened and heavier choices. We enjoyed the shrimp salad, Thai pumpkin soup, and chicken salad sandwich. All homemade and so good. Dog friendly outdoor seating. It's definitely on our list of places to return to next time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ediezap, Manager at Kona Joe's Island Cafe, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thanks so much for coming by for breakfast and then coming back for lunch, we love hearing that. Our shrimp salad is usually a weekend special and it is hard for us to keep it for long, as we serve it faster than we can prepare it at times. The Thai Pumpkin soup is a seasonal special and has proven very popular served both hot and cold. Our chicken salad is simply one of our signature items and we make it fresh throughout the day. So glad you liked the food, the atmosphere and dog-friendliness of our island cafe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kona Joe's Island Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Kona Joe's Island Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing