We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breakfast Sandwich To Crave!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kona Joe's Island Cafe

Kona Joe's Island Cafe
Ranked #5 of 32 Restaurants in Cedar Key
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $7
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: When you visit KONA JOE'S ISLAND CAFE, you're in for a treat. Experience our fresh gourmet coffee, scrumptious sandwiches and real fruit smoothies. Don't leave without a hand-dipped ice cream cone or a slice of Edie's famous Cedar Key Lime Pie. You'll love the friendly atmosphere of our cheery indoor and outdoor seating. Joe will spoil you as you enjoy your meal on our private deck, watching the pelicans play on the stunning Back Bayou.
Cedar Key
Level Contributor
143 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Breakfast Sandwich To Crave!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

Even in the afternoon you can get a bacon, egg, cheese sandwhich at a great price piping hot off the grill and ready for your taste buds. Add a peanut butter ice coffee to it and you are ready to go. A great place to eat inside or outside or to go orders. Nice bayou water view with fantastic bird watching opportunities as you dine. bring your binoculars with you.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FarawayInnCedarKey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    88
    28
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Central Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
98 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pretty close”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

to my New York deli egg sandwich! We both got the egg sandwiches, I asked for swiss on mine and we started our day off with a huge smile.
We will be back! Delicious............

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lagar_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bisbee, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Place and Location For breakfast and Lunch"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

We are spending the whole month of January on this wonderful island. One of the prettiest spots for a meal or cup of great coffee in Cedar Key is Kona Joe's. Wonderful deck overlooking the water and wonderful food entirely baked or cooked on the premises. Prices are quite reasonable and the ambiance is totally unpretentious with a great funky, down-to-earth decor. Stop in and enjoy. You won't be disappointed. We weren't !!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DirtyTurtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

Do not miss this cafe for breakfast and lunch...clean,perfect home,ads food especially shrimp salad croissant and homemade lemonade. Ice cream wonderful. Lovely sitting on the porch,too. Conversation delightful with owners,too.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chippiegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast at Kona Joe's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

We enjoyed crab quiche and cheese omelet sandwiches on Kaiser roll for New Year's breakfast at Kona Joe's. Edie, Joe's wife and the chef, prepared a wonderful breakfast that they served in a relaxed setting looking out at the water. We'll certainly visit Joe's the next time we're back in Cedar Key!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank JAXJWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kona Joe's Island Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Kona Joe's Island Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing