We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two days in an " Old Florida Fishing Village"”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cedar Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cedar Key Harbour Master Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Harbour Master Suites, Cedar Key, Florida is a charming hotel. Good for a stop to visit an old fishing village in Florida. If you are in to fishing, airboat rides, wish to paddle a kayak, or just look at the water, this is the place for you. Not too many tourist, a few art studios carrying local artist work, and the normal Cedar Key t-shirts, sandals, jewelry, will be about all you will find for shopping. If you have a suite take a few basic food items because they are hard to find here.
Ken's Diner is great for breakfast, two blocks from Harbour Master. Our two nights there were relaxing and worth the drive to visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SueTortoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 284 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

This wasn't a planned stop on our Florida winter road trip, but we were delighted to find this gem. The setting of the hotel on the old pier, DIRECTLY on the water, is so relaxing and the suites are so large and homey, that I could have stayed for weeks. Cedar Key is a small laid back village, and there aren't touristy things to do, but if you want a taste of old Florida, this is place to visit,and Harbour Master is definitely the place to stay while you're there. The staff at the gift shop is also the front desk help, and they were very nice, and gave us good input on places to dine.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beachlifelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Harbour Master suites in Cedar Key is sited on the old pier and enjoys fabulous "over water" views across the sea. The rooms and suites are very individual and tastefully furnished/themed to a high standard with all mod cons typical of the USA. Bathrooms likewise. The rooms were spacious and very comfortable. We had corner suites "Tropical Tranquility" and "Corrigans Reef" for myself, my wife and my mother. Both suites, linked by an inner door, had a narrow continuous verandah/balcony (though not connected), not big enough for a sun lounger, but room enough to sit and enjoy the sunset view over the sea accompanied with a sundowner. You might get a sunlounger on the verandah by turning it sideways, but you'd have to bring your own. The seats/stools provided are prone to bird dirt. There are plenty of birds around, including Pelicans feeding on the water. Wonderful to watch.
The Harbour Master suites are right by several cafes and restaurants, so not far to go for dining.
There are no public areas, such as bar or lounge, in the Harbour Master suites itself.
Cedar Key itself is a quite small but well located for the surrounding wildlife areas, including the Manatee springs where you can swim.
Cedar Key does have a small but very interesting town museum, well worth half an hour or so of your time.

Room Tip: Recommend "Tropical tranquility" and "Corrigans Reef" for families or friends as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed in Tropical Paradise suite on the second floor corner. The suites have kitchenettes, a super view of sunrise on the water, a great breeze and nice customer service. There is a wraparound porch to enjoy the view of fishing, islands, boating, etc. There are a couple restaurants right next door for casual dining, and a little town sqauare a block or two away for shopping and dining. This is a hidden gem.

Room Tip: One room had a musty smell, have them let you view the rooms available before choosing so you get th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stmccormick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed in the Sunkissed suite. It does not have a private balcony but the is a table and chairs right outside the door. We spent our afternoons there watching the birds and talking to other guests. The only down fall I can see is that the walls are very thin and I felt like I needed to wisper as not to disturb other guest. We would NOT let that keep us from staying there again. The staff was great and housekeeping would always come back later if we were not up when they came. Great location!!! We parked when we got there and did not get back in the car until it was time to leave. Everything and every restaurant you need in within walking distance.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My wife and I lucked out a weekend ago and stopped in and got their last available room, the "Loft". It was huge and very well decorated, very clean and the staff was very friendly. We will definitely want to stay here again. Great view and while rustic looking on the outside the room was very modern. Great place!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bfisher003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This place is great. It is so unusual and funky, in a very good way. The views are wonderful, right out over the water and the room was beyond spacious (we were in the Loft). We had views of both the water and the street. Enjoyed watching the "fire dancers" one evening from our room! The staff was friendly and helpful, this is a super place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sooki22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cedar Key hotels
0.3 mi away
Beach Front Motel
Beach Front Motel
#4 of 5 in Cedar Key
203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cedar Inn
Cedar Inn
#3 of 3 in Cedar Key
28 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seahorse Landing
Seahorse Landing
#2 of 12 in Cedar Key
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cedar Cove Beach & Yacht Club
0.3 mi away
Natures Landing Condominium
0.1 mi away
Island Place
Island Place
#9 of 12 in Cedar Key
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Key Harbour Master Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Key Harbour Master Suites

Address: 390 Dock St, Cedar Key, FL 32625-5166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Cedar Key
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Cedar Key
Price Range: $90 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The views from this southernmost locale in Cedar Key cannot be duplicated. A kaledidoscope of radiant sunrises and sunsets delight all those who choose to accept our hospitality. Screened porches and private balconies assure you of an idyllic haven in which to soothe and restore your soul. A courtyard garden surrounding a grand fountain adds to the ambiance of the experience. Nine individually-appointed accommodations will lure you to this premier location on Dock Street. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cedar Key Harbour Master Hotel Cedar Key

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing