We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dont waste your money” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cedar Cove Beach & Yacht Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cedar Cove Beach & Yacht Club
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dont waste your money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

The pictures our not even close....the only thing nice about this place is location and view..we stayed in townhouse 6. It was dirty..never even got pillow cases for our stained pillows. Try pulling back the sheets and looking at the stained mattress under the egg foam cover they put on top of the mattress. The fridge is so rusted who would want to put food in it and then cook with the nasty dirty dishes they provide. The hot tub is empty and broke...the pool has not been cleaned in I don't know how long and the marina what marina. The marina is a bunch of broken decks that would not hold the weight of a seagull. The staff is rude and very ignorant. We paid 150 a night in all honestly I would not pay more than 50 a night.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank melchamberlain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    32
    15
    5
    11
See reviews for
22
49
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dade City, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had a very nice room on the inside. We did not like our balcony overlooking the "marina." It was not a marina, it was a broken dock graveyard. They have strong high and low tides there so when the tide was out the "marina" really smelled bad because it became a mud basin. Other than than that, our TV was very old and the VCR Jack was broken. We did not care, not interested in TV. We were there for 2 nights and on the one day we could have hung out at the pool it was closed for a private party. If we go back, we probably won't stay at this hotel unless we make sure we are not overlooking the "marina."

Room Tip: Do not over look the "marina," stinky during low tide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nightwindpandora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal River, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Cedar key cove beach & Yacht club is not for the elite that are looking for polish and glider. It is maintained for the comfort of families and vacationers who are looking for the natural lay of the land , that refuses to change to the big money condos and fast foods. This hotel is kept up in the sense of being at the beach , or fishing, or crabbing along the many coastal spots that are appealing to the eye of the naturalist. So if you like good food, and natural settings along the gulf marsh , inland waterways and sounds that clams are bountiful,and shrimp ,and catching scollaps in season, and big time boating and some of the best fishing in the country, you don't care if the couch in the room has a little wear. The points of the hotel that really count are well maintained, like the pool area with new decking, and the addition of flowering pita and tropical plants on the deck. Also a new grill to cook the days catch on . So the yacht club may not be perfect but improvements are being made as new management takes steps to see to the comfort of their guests.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank gabdiesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Met my sisters,mom, & best friend at this resort & had the BEST time!! Leaving today, but wish I could have extended our stay! Pool was perfect, lounged out while we grilled at the provided grill. Had an ocean front balcony and was thrilled with the view. Kids saw the dolphins while we relaxed on our balcony. The gift shops & restaraunts are within walking distance. We walked next door and rented a golf cart to cruise around town. One of the boat tours,you can see the booths from the balcony, was a real treat.2-3 hour tours or whatever your looking for. Wished we had time to rent a kayak next door, but had to get back to the real world. The condos were all clean & the staff friendly & informative! Also, had a great price for 3 night stay for our 3 room group. (WEEKDAY SPECIAL) Heard they have new owners & are updating, but my experience was top notch!Can't wait to return!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Calling this a Beach & Yacht Club is being inventive at best and dishonest at worst.
The yacht moorings have fallen into disrepair and into the water and probably haven't seen a sailing vessel since pirates stalked the local waters.It's certainly why you don't see any mention of them in the hotel amenities.
The tiny strip of beach was covered in seawood,rubbish and assorted detritus.
And there are few clubs that I know of where there is no room service,pool service or even an open front desk after 6pm.
In short the Cedar Cove Beach & Yacht Club is faded and scruffy, rather like my room which came with a sticky carpet, an A/C unit with only one setting ( Hurricane ) and the previous tenants half-eaten meal in the refrigerator. To watch TV from the bed I had to physically move it acroos the entire room to the kitchen although an extra long cable had been provided. How difficult would it be for this hotel to move a TV aerial socket from one side of the room to another rather than expect guests to shift a TV themselves ?
A tiny pool and a dour restaurant did little to dispel the gloom.
I'm all for Old Florida trying to sell the concept of a bygone time but for the money this place is charging you should at least get a few 21st Century necessities.
The only positive thing to report is what they couldn't mess up - the majestic view out to sea.
Avoid if you can.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wahaay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

I have stayed at six different places on the island.. We loved this location so much that we decided to try to buy one. It was absolutely delightful to wake up directly on the waterfront. We sat on the deck and watched dolphins swim right next to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeefus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

The rooms could use some updating but otherwise great place to stay right on the water. The restaurant at this hotel is phenomenal. Excellent place to eat. The hotel staff is extremely friendly. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsbrown68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cedar Key
0.5 mi away
Beach Front Motel
Beach Front Motel
#4 of 5 in Cedar Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Natures Landing Condominium
0.2 mi away
Island Place
Island Place
#7 of 12 in Cedar Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
No photo provided
Withlacoochee Motel
#2 of 2 in Inglis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Cove Beach & Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Cove Beach & Yacht Club

Property: Cedar Cove Beach & Yacht Club
Address: 192 Second St., Cedar Key, FL 32625
Location: United States > Florida > Cedar Key
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Cedar Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Cove Beach & Yacht Club 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Cedar Cove Beach & Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Cove Beach & Yacht Club Hotel Cedar Key
Cedar Cove Beach And Yacht Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing