We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not recommended unless improvement are made”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cedar Cove Beach & Yacht Club
New Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not recommended unless improvement are made”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

The lady at the front desk with the bizzare makeup was unfriendly, and would not budge on early check in, and refused to allow us to check in until 4:00 pm. I called later and spoke to someone else at the front desk, and the room was ready. They never offered to call when it was ready.

There is no ice machine on the site. The pool is a bird bath. It would be simple and inexpensive to install monofilament fishing line to keep the birds out of the pool. The room is spacious, and has a cathedral ceiling, but is severely outdated in all aspects.

The owners need to invest some money for improvements in this hotel. It was below average, especially for the price of the room.

A car alarm and people talking in the hall kept us awake.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    33
    15
    5
    11
See reviews for
23
51
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

Upon checking & reading such wonderful reviews, I knew something was wrong. When I asked for a new room we were moved to a nice room, gulf front for the same price. Management was very accommodating. There is a nice pool but it was not heated so it was pretty cold. The fitness room Ian's "tired" and is in need of some work to include tuning up the cardio equipment. The location is wonderful situated on the main street and Dock Street was pretty active. This is art festival weekend so the town is bustling.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a gulf front room, they are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRQ Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Terrace, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

I have stayed at Cedar Cove several times in the past and have always been totally pleased with the room or condo we ocuppied. Cedar Cove provides a larger living space than many other hotels including newer condos which are much smaller or don't have the excellant location Cedar Cove has. Justbeinghonest must not have been having a good day.

Room Tip: Love the three story condos past the marina on the gulf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmcreative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

We've been to Cedar Key for several get-aways, but have never stayed at Cedar Cove. ( I had been under the impression it was a time share.) Room was superior to ones at the other places we stayed at before. It was tastefully decorated and spotless. Having a full modern kitchen is also a convenience. We walked to the Cedar Key Market and brought back a rack of their smoked ribs for dinner. Loved the whole stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rudyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

We decided last minute to get away for a celebration. We had friendly helpful service from making reservations to our extremely friendly check-in. Cedar Key is a sleepy little fishing town and it was a great get-away. We were pleased with our room, decor and service.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler4361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeFuniak Springs, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

The previous review is very unfair to cedar cove beach & yacht club!! we have stayed many many vacations and just weekend trips.the rooms are not rundown.one unit we stay in has all wicker furniture with modern kitchen and ocean view!! the staff does lock up at 9 but they have an emergency contact # posted after hours.if you have ever stayed in cedar key you would know that most hotel/motels close much earlier than 9pm and 10 on weekends.this is the only hotel that provides a gym on the island! they have an excellent restaraunt called the Island Room!!! we have stayed here every time we come to cedar key & plan on staying in the future!!! i have to toot cedar key floridas horn too on how they appreciated their vets for the 4th by displaying military names with American flags when coming past the 1st bridge to the island!!American flags ligned the streets all the way to 2nd street and lead the way to cedar cove beach & yacht club!!

Room Tip: as with any hotel some are better than others(ask the front desks advice)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joeyb43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

We booked here based on the positive reviews but I was very disappointed in the quality, cleanliness and service. I don't want to sound snobbish, but at ~$150 per night, I expect a certain level and this place did not deliver. This place should NOT call itself a "hotel"--that is misleading for those of us who have traveled all over and have stayed at both. We had significant issues our first night (our room essentially was uninhabitable) and we were lucky to find help (because the front desk closes at 9pm and the management checks out) and were given a 2nd uninhabitable room. The rooms need "capital improvements"--they need to be updated, painted, cleaned and the furniture replaced. Everything was from the 80s or earlier, the sofa was filthy and tables had noticeable dirt and wear. That being said, if you have young children and are looking for a convenient motel to pile into and use a vacation base, this place would probably suit you just fine. But if you are accustomed to a consistent standard of quality (Super 8s, Motel 6, Quality Inn) at this price point, I would strongly recommend contacting a realtor and renting a house.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank justbeinghonest_35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cedar Key
0.5 mi away
Beach Front Motel
Beach Front Motel
#4 of 5 in Cedar Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Natures Landing Condominium
0.2 mi away
Island Place
Island Place
#7 of 12 in Cedar Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Nature Coast Inn
Nature Coast Inn
#1 of 2 in Inglis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
23.0 mi away
No photo provided
Withlacoochee Motel
#2 of 2 in Inglis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Cove Beach & Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Cove Beach & Yacht Club

Property: Cedar Cove Beach & Yacht Club
Address: 192 Second St., Cedar Key, FL 32625
Location: United States > Florida > Cedar Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Cedar Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Cove Beach & Yacht Club 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully equipped condominiums directly on the Gulf of Mexico in Cedar Key, Florida. We rent units by the day, week or month. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cedar Cove Beach & Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Cove Beach & Yacht Club Hotel Cedar Key
Cedar Cove Beach And Yacht Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing