We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must see”

Cedar Key Museum State Park
Ranked #4 of 22 things to do in Cedar Key
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Learn about the interesting history of this small town and the surrounding area.
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A must see”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

very nice place and the person there was very friendly and informed us about alot of things

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    75
    32
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pretty to walk around”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Enjoy the site seeing and getting to know the area a little more...

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Binxey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cantonment, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

A beautiful setting to learn the history of Cedar Key. We especially enjoyed the old homestead. If you plan to walk the trails, be sure to apply bug repellent!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Callatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
209 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Small state park worth the trip!”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Even though this state park is way off the traveled path, there are numerous attractions. It is in Cedar Key FL, which is a small coastal town in west central FL, on the west coast of FL, which is a small peaceful town with nothing major to do other than sit back and relax. It has a small presentation room with the local area history, an out building, a nature trail and a few exhibits on the exterior. It is really out-of-the-way, and I would not make it a day trip unless you are a "history buff", however, the entrance fee was very reasonalbe and I was already in Cedar Key.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank ltthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice little state park”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The museum is small but interesting. I thought the historic home was also nice - it had quite a few items that belonged to the original owner. My husband and I brought our dog and took turns sitting outside with her while each one of us checked out the museum and the house. Our favorite part was the trail through the marsh (our dog LOVED that).

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank anATLgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cedar Key Museum State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing