We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“13 Pristine NWR Islands”

Cedar Keys National Wildlife Refuge
Ranked #7 of 21 things to do in Cedar Key
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Thirteen offshore islands designated as wilderness areas offer spectacular and rare viewing for birding and wildlife enthusiasts.
Cedar Key, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“13 Pristine NWR Islands”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

There was nothing to dislike, these islands are incredible. We visited Atsena Otie, Snake Key, North Key, Seahorse Key (which is only open 4 times a year to the public) and Deadman's Key. The islands we visited varied in size especially at high and low tide. The islands are so pristine and unspoiled by man. They are so peaceful for a couples escape. We had our own boat but you can rent them or take special boat tours out to the islands. These islands do have critters so stay out of tall grass and stick to the designated paths or beach. Each island is different. We found some awesome treasures in the water. We had such a great time and had the islands practically to ourselves. Lots of little fish at the shore and bright sunny skies for tanning. We had a great picnic lunch on our pontoon boat while tied up at North Key watching the wildlife in their natural habitat. It does not get much better than this for nature lovers and people who like off the beaten path vacations. Remember these great islands are only accessible by boat, kayak, canoe and are tide dependent. What a way to spent a day in the sun on some of the most beautiful natural beaches in Florida. Unspoiled and incredible!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank FarawayInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    11
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting!”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Walk back in time while on the island. Crab, bird and dolphin watching are perfect from this quite oasis away from town but only minutes away by boat, kayak or paddle board.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Smith6774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairgowrie
Level Contributor
119 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Time stands still (well not quite!)”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We have been coming from Scotland to Cedar Key for years and just love it. The birding is remarkable and it is essential to take a boat trip out to the outer keys. Last time we went with Captain Doug's daughter who was extremely knowledgeable about the area and its wildlife. She managed to get a couple of dolphins to follow the boat at high speed one each side for about half a mile- a fascinating experience. The white pelicans out there were great to see close up instead of squinting through binocs from the shore. All in all a great area with friendly folk and (in December at least) no crowds. Make sure to have fresh clams from a shack and/or a quart of sea food chowder to take back to your place from Tony's!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank WRB72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lineville, Alabama
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

One of the reasons we have been going to CK for 10 years. The refuge status of the area promises good fishing, good birding, great scenery. Take advantage of the outdoors

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Fred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoosassa, Fl
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Birding!”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Just Google it, Mapquest or GPS, then GO. Anytime of year you see birds - an Audubon Society favorite!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Boverly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cedar Keys National Wildlife Refuge also viewed

 

Been to Cedar Keys National Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing