We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not at all what we though”

Cassadaga Spiritualist Camp
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Cassadaga
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
1,973 reviews
535 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 534 helpful votes
“Not at all what we though”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Its not really a town, more of a street with some shops. Selling stones, and spiritual stuff, the main camp is mostly a book store with nothing going on.
There are mediums all over town, we went to a hand writing one and she was quite good. We enjoyed that, but was kind of going way out of our way to have our hand writing read. The restaurants in town are bad, and only place to stay is the Camp. Was a fun afternoon

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank wick1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    44
    20
    2
    20
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Metaphysical community”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is a good place to visit if you are new to metaphysics. The bookstore across from the Cassadaga Hotel is the largest store in town, but they do not do readings there. The community does have plenty of mediums to choose from as most of the residents have some type of psychic ability. If you do get a reading, they may or may not be any good. I have had readings from many different people (elsewhere), but the one I got in town at the 6th sense was pretty lame. It even seemed to me like the woman was stalling, just waiting (hoping) for the timer to go off soon to end the session. I can't say that every reading will be like that one though. I would rate the community better than average (because of how unique it is) but not quite very good, but since there is no option for a position in between those two, I went with very good for the uniqueness factor.

Like others have said, Cassadaga is quaint, but calling it a "town" is a stretch. What makes it so unique is that it is a community of psychics and mediums. You won't see the suburban "coookie cutter" homes there, but much older homes, many with front porches. Unfortunately, many of the homes have not been kept in top shape, which is a shame. The community would really stand out if it looked a bit nicer. Many of the homes have also had their homes changed, mostly by enclosing their porches to make it an additional room. While I understand that reasoning, it really does take away from the charm of so many of the homes.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Maketrax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lk Helen
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unique place to spend a weekend.”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Unique place to spend a weekend. Tours available, bookshop, seminars, historic hotel, park. Very quiet & relaxing.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank DCBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Helen, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Don't Go Out of Your Way”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The community is small and "quaint." We actually stumbled upon it during some errands, by taking an access road from DeLand to Lake Helen. We would not, however, make a special trip.

Many of the homes are run down, and the people can be off-putting. I'm not sure if that was done purposely or not.

In the end, it's worth a "side-trip" if you are in the area, but don't make a special trip for this. It won't take you more than 30 minutes, and that's including if you choose to get a reading!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Gaseoustania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“wonderful place”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

it was a great town with beautiful scenery, the shops and bookstore are a must. lots of mediums to choose from.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank sunflower122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cassadaga Spiritualist Camp also viewed

 

Been to Cassadaga Spiritualist Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing