We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Better than the pictures”
other travelers have booked this property
Winchester Cottage, 1933
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Winchester Cottage, 1933
Carrabelle from the NW - mostly water! The Cottage is just 5 blocks from this harbor. Carrabelle beach - peaceful, unpopulated, just sea, sand, sun and sky
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Winchester Cottage, 1933
Carrabelle from the NW - mostly water! The Cottage is just 5 blocks from this harbor.
Carrabelle beach - peaceful, unpopulated, just sea, sand, sun and sky
The operatonal, and climbable, Crooked River lighthouse
View across the harbor from Fathoms restaurant, an easy weekend walk from the Cottage
Our coast is ringed with salt marshes - great skinny-water fishing!
Leaving the harbor, into the Gulf in the early AM hours
Get up early to catch the sunrise, looking from the bridge across the harbor
The recurring theme- the old and the new- this is photographer Miami Carl's donation to the Hotel
Antique sailing workboat Governor Stone occasionally visits and offers free tours
Camp Gordon Johnston Museum - full of our proud WWII amphibious heritage
At the beach at dawn
Winchester screen porch, room for everybody
A Winchester bedroom
Winchester kitchen - open, airy and all new appliances
Winchester living room area - comfortable for reading or TV viewing
See us on Facebook to keep up-to-date!
Middle bedroom
Front bedroom
Bedroom 3
Remodeled bathroom
Looking from 2 thru bath to 1
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Carrabelle, Florida

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tbird1012
Lansing, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better than the pictures”
Reviewed March 14, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Pictures do not do justice to this place. Front screened porch is huge. Kitchen is well equipped with a great 5 burner stove. Large living areas for a group. Back patio and deck with shade and sun. Tons of reading materials at the cottage. Large frig.

Go to Wakulla Springs state park for lunch and the boat eco tour. It is a great experience. Best grouper and crab cakes.

Some cautions for those staying longer than a weekend...no closet space for hanging clothes but there are dressers for storage. No weekly cleaning or linen service provided. A decent grocery store is 45 minutes to an hour away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The common living areas
Liked least: Lack of linen service in the middle of a 2 week stay
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 15, 2016
We appreciate thoughtful and detailed comments.

We have given thought to adding services to the Cottage, but have elected to keep things 'As Is' to hold the rate down.

As an example, the Cottage has a washer and dryer, so there is no "linen service". That service would require an average $50 upcharge to the rental, a similar fee as you might find at a hotel. Unfortunately, the business reality is that this service is $45 administration and $5 cleaning. We think our guests would rather wash their own!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney R
1 review
“What a wonderful vacation at Winchester Cottage!”
Reviewed October 12, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

I had not had a real vacation in years.My friend found this great cottage online and convinced me to drive over and check it out. We were sold on it after she looked at it and having stayed there this last 5 days, I have to say it is everything we hoped. If you want a vacation away from the rat race in a quiet little seaside town with no stoplights for miles, book this place!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful, loved the front porch for relaxing, reading. and eating.
Liked least: The street is a little busy during the day but quiets down at a reasonable hour.
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2017
Hi Rodney--
Your review just popped up, so we're responding a little belatedly.

It's always great to hear that we've provided someone with an amazing getaway, and it sounds like you're one of those folks. This is one of the last remaining vestiges of "Old Florida", and we feel so fortunate to be here.
Skip and Kathy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ishbak3
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect Getaway”
Reviewed July 15, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Our stay was perfect! It was very humid as we went on a rainy weekend, but while the sun was out, it was a perfect location to head out to the fishing piers and view the water and boats! It was super quiet. My favorite place to relax (especially while it rained) was the screened in porch! I just love the rockers! I enjoyed my morning cup of coffee and loved watching the white squirrel! Recycling the trash wasn't hard either! We knew how to recycle due to living overseas. The back porch light didn't work, so we stayed towards the front at night with our dog. There are 2 large lights you can turn on the view the oak trees in the front! I never seen any bears, which was a bit of a bummer, but the ocean and shelling was my favorite part to the trip! The TV in the back has a built in dvd player that wasn't playing any of the dvd's. My daughter got a first view of what a VCR was like as she layed in the bed of the room with a VCR. They have a few selected VCR tapes to choose from. Having netflix on the main tv in the living room was great for the family! This home really gave us true family quality time! The table was perfect to sit around and play our board games we brought knowing the weather in advance. If you want to truly go on a vacation with family and have true quality time together, this is the perfect place!!! I accidently left my hat hanging on the master bedroom bed post, but its ok.. Maybe it will come in use for someone else! Another thing to mention, there wasn't any closets to hang clothes and alot of the drawers were full. They have plenty of towels and a washer and dryer which came into use as I didn't have to pack dirty clothes when leaving. The kitchen was a great size and comes equipped for cooking uses! The grocery store was a short stop away and had decent prices. We cooked out on the outdoor grill provided! It was truly a great family vacation!!! Skip was super nice!! I wouldn't mind coming back and staying again here at the cottage!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: It was a hot/humid weekend and hard to stay cool at night.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 23, 2015
We thank you for taking the time to pen a very thoughtful and thorough review. Our European guests typically are this way--they don't miss much.

We now have a checklist of items that we can work on, and your input is very helpful. And next time we'll try to arrange the Liquid Sunshine to come at some other time!
Skip and Kathy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeeDubya
New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“All We Could Have Hoped Far, and More”
Reviewed April 5, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We were looking for a small comfortable cottage in the Apalachicola/Eastpoint/Carrabelle area and Winchester Cottage consistently got top marks. Our stay was most enjoyable from start to finish. The cottage was in a neighborhood, not some tourist enclave, which was exactly what we were looking for. Clean, imaginatively decorated, with a full well-equipped kitchen and comfortable dining space. The heating/cooling system (seldom needed) was happily supported by a quiet ceiling fan in each room, with 4-speed settings, perfect. Skip was nearby to answer any questions, but few arose. Carrabelle has lots of little restaurants (we especially enjoyed Carrabelle Junction and Fisherman's Wife), and a wonderful fish market, Millender & Sons, which provided fresh shrimp, oysters and fish whenever we wished to cook in. Paradise is never perfect, but the annoyances of early morning traffic were a very minor inconvenience. If you are a light sleeper, a pair of ear stops will be welcome. Thanks again for a wonderful 2-week stay, we hope to be back soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable furnishings, great kitchen, local neighborhood.
Liked least: Early morning traffic.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 16, 2015
Maine is a good bit distant from Florida, but what a nice climate change! We are glad that the trip was worth it, and hope that our new friends will return.

Our Cottage was treated very well, as well!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MedMile
Charlton, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“All the comforts of home”
Reviewed March 9, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Extremely well stocked and clean cottage. We had a wonderful stay and Skip was lovely to work with on our accommodations. All the comforts of home while on the road.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagnswim
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“wonderful time”
Reviewed March 9, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

For our long weekend to take the dogs to the beach we decided to stay in Carrabelle for the easy access to St George. Surprise! Winchester Cottage was the most comfortable place we have been on the Panhandle. Furnished with a lots of taste, spacious, so pet friendly with an easy access to the back porch for our 12 yo Choc Lab with hip dysplasia during the night, close to everything, beach, shops, breakfast (the best veggie sandwich I had for longtime) we finally ended up to visit from St George to Mexico Beach, and decided to come back to the cottage in November again. Skip also was very helpful to ship back our gift we forgot behind.
Cottage or Old Carrabelle Hotel, you guys will see us again soon... and probably often after...Thank you... everything was just great.
ps the TV doesn't work in the green room but we did not mind...who can watch TV from the bed after a full day on the beach anyway?:-)))

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the proximity of everything and the cosiness
Liked least: the neighborhood landscape:-)))
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PahaSapa5...
Chipley, Florida
1 review
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed September 19, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Great time at the cootage, very quiet and clean. Would have liked to see the bear. The only down side was that the beds were small and hard.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: overall feel of the cottage
Liked least: Beds were to hard
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing