We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love lighthouses!”

Crooked River Lighthouse
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Carrabelle
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Islamorada
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“I love lighthouses!”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I love lighthouses and this one is no exception. It has a fascinating history which you can learn about at the information center... great video that my husband watched while I climbed! 138 steps to the top - a real skinny climb with beautiful views when you get to the top! You can only climb the lighthouse on Sat and Sun - $5.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    36
    13
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Love this light house!”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

What a beautiful view from the top! Enjoyed the gift shop. If you get a chance to buy the PBS Lighthouses DVD get it! Wonderful picture opportunities.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank RTR13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great view”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Had a blast climbing the lighthouse with all my children. Great view from up there. You really get a better understanding of the layout of Dog Island and St. George Island. Neat little playground for the kids also.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank marcdavisfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice Stop”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

1/25/13 My wife and I stopped by to visit the light house and had a wonderful experience. We lived in Michigan and have visited many lighthouses. This one has a very interesting history having to be replaced for the fourth time due to hurricane destruction and inadequate design. There are two videos to watch and they are both good. You can climb the lighthouse ($5.00 fee) on the weekend. We opted not to take the 138 step climb. The two ladies that were working were very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Thanks for your hospitality.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rallyhost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“A must see if you are in the area”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My wife and I visited the Crooked River Lighthouse for the first time and really enjoyed our visit. The lighthouse keeper and tour guide were both very friendly and informative. The view from the top of the lighthouse is spectacular. If you like lighthouses or just like to check out historic places, the Crooked River Lighthouse would be a great stop for you!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SBDFAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crooked River Lighthouse also viewed

Carrabelle, Florida Panhandle
Carrabelle, Florida Panhandle
 
Carrabelle, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Crooked River Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing