We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again..”

The Fisherman's Wife Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 16 Restaurants in Carrabelle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Green Lake, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Never again..”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Can't imagine why this is ranked number 1 on Trip Advisor. Ordered crab cakes, which are available on the weekend. Couldn't eat them. Greasy, fishy, terrible brown color. And not cheap! Don't expect any 'atmosphere.' Very mediocre place. Would not recommend.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane59930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    88
    40
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“at almost closing time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Perhaps my disappointment was due to the high praise the local who refered me voiced. My dinner was hot and good but not exceptional.
The place was out of a lot of times that I heard other diners trying to order.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank mamaJanetlw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
121 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not a great place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Okay, we chose this restaurant because it is rated #1 on Tripadvisor. I don't know how it got such high ratings as the food was just mediocre. I ordered the grilled shrimp basket and my husband ordered the fried oyster basket. The oysters and shrimp were quite good, but the hush puppies were too large and had no flavor. The french fries tasted like frozen ones in the oven and the cheese grits were awful. The service was very good and the ambiance was non existent. Overall, not a great meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LindaVA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good new find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Fried shrimp, bay scallops and the roasted potatoes were very good. Cute place. This is a good new find for us, we will definitely be back.

Helpful?
Thank ellyn25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawfordville, Florida
1 review
“End to a wonderful birthday weekend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Wish this had been a choice for dinner on Saturday night between plays at the Dixie Theatre in Apalachicola. Love the food and they had cheese grits!! Prices were so much better and they give you a lot! We ate at Apalachicola Seafood Grill in Apalachicola and across from the theatre-way over priced and not a lot to choose from for sides-$4 small salad (lettuce, a piece of tomato and a slice of cucumber). I learned some history as my friends family is from Carrabelle and the restaurant is housed in his Aunt Pitt (what family called her :)-old homestead. We both had the shrimp basket-lot of food. Loved the place and am looking forward to going back!.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Candy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fisherman's Wife Restaurant also viewed

Carrabelle, Florida Panhandle
Carrabelle, Florida Panhandle
 
Carrabelle, Florida Panhandle
Carrabelle, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to The Fisherman's Wife Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing