We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old Florida charm...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Old Carrabelle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Carrabelle B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Sacramento, California, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Old Florida charm...”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at The Old Carrabelle Hotel last month (April) while on a road trip through Florida with my brother, and very much enjoyed our time there. It is housed in a beautiful old building, which was lovingly restored and just charming. We didn't spend much time during the day in the hotel, as we were exploring the local waterways photographing wildlife, but each evening we returned to clean up and relax and look at the day's photos...the upstairs porch was the perfect place for this! We also enjoyed our breakfasts at Two Als and our dinners at The Fisherman's Wife (the shrimp there were gi-normous, lightly battered, and SO fresh!!). We'd surely return to The Old Carrabelle!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shari G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    29
    9
    7
    4
See reviews for
23
99
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Utterly charming. Enjoyed my extended stay here, the cottage is wonderful. Cozy and comfortable, feels like a real home, and the owners couldn’t have been more gracious and helpful. Outstanding porch! You can relax out there with your laptop if you want, there’s comfortable seating, plugs, and wireless. Movie channels and free Netflix. Note that there is no dishwasher, the shower water pressure is pretty low, and there will be some rooster and road noise in the front rooms. I liked having a rooster around, and was also delighted to watch a black bear amble along the tree line in back, and the white squirrel next door frolicking about every day. This is a slow, quiet, relaxing town, and from the house it’s an easy walk to the peaceful harbor. I recommend any parks, forests, and country drives for miles around; I fell in love with the tall pines. The fried shrimp and crab cakes at both Fisherman’s Wife and 2 Al’s were great. FW also serves a scrumptious Key Lime pie that I acutely wish I had with me now.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasTableForOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skip_and_Kathy, Owner at The Old Carrabelle Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
These are exactly many of the things we found about the Cottage and Carrabelle, and have tried to improve upon, without massive changes.

This month we are on a program to soak and clean all the showerheads (mineral deposits), so you should find better water flow next time! (*Here's the EZ way to do the task, FYI--tie a plastic bag filled with your solution (a calcium/lime/rust dissolver) around the showerhead, let soak overnight!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2013

What a great find!! It can sometimes be deceiving when choosing a place to stay from your computer....but this time we were presently surprised....the Old Carrabelle Hotel was even better then represented online. Skip and Kathy were very nice but not at all intrusive. The hotel itself has been beautifully restored to its original Old Florida style...so warm and comfy. We will be back.

Room Tip: They are all great! Air conditioning was slightly cold for me personally, but I just closed vent in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomasellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skip_and_Kathy, Owner at The Old Carrabelle Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Glad you pointed out one of the challenges of floor-by-floor climate control. We have only the registers available for fine tuning, and Sometimes others decide to -Help-.

One of our worst findings is that guests have pulled out the blankets in the summer! Thanks--good that you were able to get the system back in sync!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel in 2002 and really enjoyed it. Taking a long weekend to Florida we decided to go back to Carrabelle and once again had a great experience.

Visiting Carrabelle and the old Carrabelle hotel is a trip to a different Florida with a different pace. We enjoyed it. Are you ready?

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank KeldCNielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This was our second time to stay at the Old Carrabelle Hotel. Both experiences were great! The hosts, Skip and Kathy are wonderful and really care about the hotel and their guests comfort. Also, you can't beat the breakfast at 2 Al's! A true gem on the forgotten coast.

Room Tip: We have stayed in the Flamingo and Magnolia. Flamingo is in the rear and a little quieter. Magnoli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SnRinParadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skip_and_Kathy, Owner at The Old Carrabelle Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Nice comments-- and we not only care about the Hotel, we care about RETURNING GUESTS!

It's a supreme compliment, when our guest comes back to stay time after time. And one we hope we continue to deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockledge, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

carrabelle is a quiet throwback to earlier times. Small town. the hotel is very nice and quiet. Skip and his wife are very nice and accomodating people. Breakfast at 2 Al's beach cafe is included in the price of the room. Lots of TV channels, a microwave and refrigerator. Be sure to visit Camp Gordon Johnston which portrays Carrabelle's involvement as a planning site for WWII invasion (including the D Day invasion). The Fisherman's wife has excellent fresh seafood. Also the Fish Camp restaurant provides a nice view of the harbor area

Room Tip: captain's quarters on the ground floor has 2 beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank vieralighthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We arrived at The Old Carrabelle Hotel at 1 am after a long day and were able to settle right in and get a good night's sleep. Our room was small but clean and cozy, and had a good selection of reading material. The fridge in the hall was handy, as was the microwave and coffeemaker. We loved sitting on the porch and blankets were even provided as it was a little chilly. And Skip was very gracious when I forgot the door code and had to call him on a Saturday night. Breakfast at Two Al's was convenient, but the place could use a thorough cleaning and a menu facelift. All in all, TOCH was a great choice for a weekend getaway!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank KittyCostello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrabelle
17.7 mi away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#1 of 2 in St. George Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
21.1 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
21.1 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Best Western Apalach Inn
Best Western Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
24.8 mi away
Best Western Wakulla Inn & Suites
21.2 mi away
Coombs House Inn
Coombs House Inn
#1 of 3 in Apalachicola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Carrabelle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Carrabelle Hotel

Property: The Old Carrabelle Hotel
Address: 201 Tallahassee St, Carrabelle, FL 32322-3214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Carrabelle
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Carrabelle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Carrabelle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Carrabelle Hotel in Carrabelle, Florida is a "Key West style inn on The Forgotten Coast". Once the end-of-the-line railroad hotel, now you may enjoy all the modern comforts in an Old Florida casual atmosphere. There is just something about the experience of a 1900-ish inn at the coast (or a coastal cottage at the coast) that no newer motel-hotel can equal. And we are a very different B&B operation - free beach restaurant breakfasts for Hotel guests, and self check-in -- just for starters. Make your own reservation online, and receive back a confirmation with all the info you may need. Don't Expect: traffic lights, lots of people, McHamburgers, bungee jumps or late-night noise. Do expect: the best seafood, eco-activity opportunities in every direction, cultural/historical activities and a lot of peace and quiet time on the property, in the forest or on the beach or water! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Old Carrabelle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing