We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel In The Cape”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cape Coral/Fort Myers Area
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Cape Coral
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel In The Cape”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here, the room was great, the beds were great, had a fridge in the room, swimming pool was clean and nice, decent hot breakfast with a nice lady working it, plus the front desk Ladies were super. If you are looking for a hotel in the Cape with easy access to Sanibel / Fort Myers this is it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side away from the street are probably quieter. We were in like 110 and it was gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuziMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexcapecoral, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Coral/Fort Myers Area, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you so much! We strive to give %100 all around satisfaction and it sounds like you truly enjoyed yourselves. We hope to see you again real soon!
Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Cape Coral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    91
    67
    16
    5
See reviews for
81
78
19
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I have been meaning to write this for quite sometime. We were there for the 4th of July, which is my son's birthday. The Hotel was packed to full capacity for the event. The entire staff was great and worked very diligently to make sure all there guests has a great time. For a Holiday it was very inexpensive, especially considering you get a really nice continnetal breakfast the next morning. We had my grand daughter who is 8 with us, and she had a good time to. We Will be back and make this an annual event because you get a great view of the fireworks from the pool area and if you care to have a cocktail you are allowed and no worry about having to drive home. There was plenty of entertainment right downtown for all ages.

Room Tip: Book early for this event or any Downtown event, I am sure they sell out. We were on the top floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexcapecoral, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Coral/Fort Myers Area, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed yourself for the "Red, White, and Boom" 4th of July celebration. It really is great that we have such a convenient location for people like you and your family to relax and have a wonderful time. We hope to see you next year!
Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Cape Coral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The staff at this hotel is wonderful, especially Shirl who works in the morning. Breakfast is very good, changes daily we had omlets, biscuits & gravy, eggs, sausage, etc. and the pancake maker is wonderful. The pool is very nice. We were in town for a wedding and everyone loved this place. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms were good size. Good location to Ft myers, Sanibel, and Pine Island. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brittany2325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexcapecoral, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Coral/Fort Myers Area, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us for the wedding! It truly is extremely flattering to hear such great things about our hotel from guests like you. We can't wait to see you again!
Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Cape Coral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This hotel was just what we wanted as first-time tourists to this area! From our clean, fluffy beds to the blue, sparkly pool....everything was very enjoyable. We enjoyed the coffee and breakfast ready downstairs so very early in the morning. Exactly 7 mi. down the road is Sanibel and the beaches. Thank you, Holiday Inn...this one's a winner!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mullinsNSBfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexcapecoral, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Coral/Fort Myers Area, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. And as always, we thank YOU, the guest, for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Cape Coral! We strive to make each and every guest's stay comfortable. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Cape Coral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

My family loves Holiday Inn and HI Express hotels as they offer value and service together. I'll start off with the positive for this particular hotel. The staff was very friendly and responsive to our needs. They went out of their way to make sure our stay was enjoyable. The location was good as well--centrally located but still out of the way enough. One note: there is a toll bridge to get to Cape Coral so everytime you leave the island, you have to pay $2 to get back on.

Now for the bad. This hotel is aging and is in need of renovation. I'll list some of the issues--it's up to you to determine if they are trivial or not. Firstly, the air conditioner in the room had the "constant fan on" feature disabled to save on energy costs. The net result of this was that I was awoken every single time the air condition came on and again every single time it cycled off. Not the best night's sleep. Secondly, the toilet did not flush correctly. A water-savings device was installed in the toilet but was not adjusted correctly. After flushing the toilet, it would take ten minutes to refill and able to be flushed again. Thirdly, the shower head was an extremely low-flow shower head and was dismally poor. Add to that the fact that, even with so little water flow, the shower/tub did not drain properly, and the bathing experience was less than ideal. A short shower still left 1-2" of standing water in the tub. I certainly undertand the need for cost-cutting measures as a way of maximizing profit, and I wholeheartedly support ecologically conscious measures to reduce water and power usage, but there are definitely existing technologies that reduce waste but still offer good performance.

Due to the problems with the room, we asked for another room. The hotel staff was extremely helpful and quickly found a room in which the air conditioner did not have the "constant-on" feature disabled. The problem was that when we went to the other room, it was instantly obvious that someone's cat had urinated in the room. The smell was overpowering. Back to the front desk and yet another room was found.

Our third room was much better, but the shower still drained slowly and the shower head barely got you wet. In all three rooms we saw, as well as in the hallways, the carpets were stained, the decor was outdated and tired, and the hotel was long overdue for a makeover. The pool was large and the water was clean, but the pool itself was in need of resurfacing. As with the rest of the hotel, it was old and tired.

Overall, the hotel offers a place to spend the night but fails to rise to any level above that.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 6s3traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Coral/Fort Myers Area, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your most recent stay. We apologize for any inconveniences you may have had. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accomodations. The feedback we receive from our valued guest, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necesssary actions to ensure similiar situations can be avoided in the future. I have forwarded your comments to the appropriate departments, as we welcome any opportunity to improve.
Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Cape Coral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neptune Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Upon travels with our cat, we have been in many pet rooms. There are many that are not nice but this one was great and it was an "enclosed" hotel. Just entering the lobby itself, I knew we had found a great place and close to where my best friend lives. We will stay there each summer - without a doubt.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kismet_Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Coral/Fort Myers Area, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you very much for your review! We go to great length to make each and every guest comfortable, even those with furry little friends. We can't wait to see you again soon!
Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Cape Coral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

The good -
- Friendly staff
- Comfortable beds
- Quiet
- Balcony

the not so hot -
- The breakfast had a decent variety, but the quality of the hot food was VERY poor. Stick with the bagels.
- Pillows - Bed was comfortable. Pillow's were soft and lumpy if that makes sense.
- TV - We didn't watch much TV. When we did the picture was grainy. Nice to see flat screen's, though.

We didn't use the pool but it did look like it was good size.

Everything is very clean.

As other reviewers point out the AC is noisy but that didn't bother us.

Room Tip: 5th floor, even numbered rooms (south side of building) provides a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobcrane03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexcapecoral, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Coral/Fort Myers Area, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel from your recent stay. It is our goal to provide superior service and we apologize for any problems you may have experienced. Your feedback is very important to us, and we use it to avoid these issues in the future. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to see you again soon!
Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Cape Coral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Coral
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cape Coral/Fort Myers Area
0.1 mi away
Dolphin Key Resort
Dolphin Key Resort
#5 of 6 in Cape Coral
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hideaway Waterfront Resort & Hotel
1.6 mi away
Casa Loma Motel on the Waterfront
6.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers - Colonial Blvd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cape Coral/Fort Myers Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cape Coral/Fort Myers Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cape Coral/Fort Myers Area
Address: 1538 Cape Coral Pkwy E, Cape Coral, FL 33904-9610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Cape Coral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Cape Coral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cape Coral/Fort Myers Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Cape Coral - Fort Myers Area is located in the center of downtown Cape Coral, FL allowing convenient access to many attractions... Fort Myers Beach, Sanibel Island & Captiva Island The University of South Florida The Edison State College The Florida Gulf Coast University The JN 'Ding' Darling National Wildlife Refuge Thomas Edison and Henry Ford's winter homes, botanical gardens and laboratory Sun Splash Family Waterpark The Caloosahatchee River and Pine Island Sound are world-class fishing areas for Tarpon, Snook, Trout and Redfish. The Minnesota Twins and Boston Red Sox have Spring Training facilities nearby. Lee County has become a sports mecca for golf, tennis and water sports. In addition to the convenience of local attractions, the Southwest Florida International Airport (RSW) is only 15 miles from the hotel. Don't miss our famous Express Start hot breakfast served from 6AM to 10AM, 7 days a week. If you're in the area for business or pleasure, be sure to Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Cape Coral Fort Myers Area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cape Coral/Fort Myers Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cape Coral/Fort Myers Area Hotel Cape Coral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing