We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best house we have ever rented!”

Review of Flamingo Island

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Cape Coral, Florida

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
CycleGuy4...
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The best house we have ever rented!”
Reviewed August 20, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We loved this place. We almost don't want to say nice things because it should be kept a secret! It is fabulous and has everything you could want. Really modern appliances, TVs - even Apple TV - etc. Everything was really clean on arrival (a fantastic job by Michael's wife!) and well maintained and it really does have everything you need. Michael was really helpful and very prompt in meeting us. The key was available in a lockbox when we arrived the night before and we got in no problem. The views over the Caloosahatchee are great and the Boat House bar and restaurant is immediately opposite across the canal and its food is good and very reasonably priced with live music most days.
The swimming pool is great and the fact it is not enclosed means it is much nicer and we were not unduly troubled by bugs. There is a good grill out the back and there are bikes in the garage.
However for me, the very best bit was the boat. A Sea Ray 270 is available to you at a reasonable extra cost. Jurgen the boat captain sorts this out and he is also a really nice guy. It was awesome and because you are right next to the main waterway this means you can be on your way immediately without endless idling down canals. Also the gas dock is opposite at the restaurant. We did Estero, Sanibel and Captiva and loved every minute.
Well done Michael - we hope to be back sometime soon!

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The boat!
Liked least: Nothing not to like
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel011
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fabulous place”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed here as a family for a week in August. I am slightly loathed to tell everyone about this place as it will then get booked up and we may not be able to go again! It is simply the nicest villa we have stayed in. Everything was perfect. It is beautifully laid out and decorated and immaculately clean - all very modern and light, with some lovely personal touches. We were there with two teenagers who made full use of the Wifi and the Apple television. The villa is in a perfect location for access to the water and having access to the boat as part of the property was amazing. We used it every day and loved it. The only shame is that this villa is 3 rather than 4 bedrooms - which limits its use for two families, but it was perfect for our needs. Finally, I would mention Michael - the manager, who was really helpful. This is a beautiful property and we were so glad we found it!

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole feel of the place and its amazing location and views
Liked least: nothing....
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lilimojit...
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Destination in Paradise”
Reviewed May 3, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
3
people found this review helpful

The Flamingo Island house is spacious, characterful and perfectly clean; we loved its atmosphere from the first moment we entered. Every aspect of the interior's decor is delightful, including the central open modern kitchen, comfortable master bedroom with integrated bathroom and two more wonderful sleeping rooms with extra bath rooms. We spent a lot of time outside on one of the terraces and watched dolphins from the sitting area with our son enjoying the pool all day. But not to forget the expansive living/dining area with two fireplaces which featured a comfortable couch, flat-screen TV, and large dining table for more than 8 people. There is also the possibility to rent the owners boat with a jetty direct at the house.
Summing up, the house was charming and luxurious, the perfect home for deeply relaxing vacation! It was also a excellent position for our day trips to the islands Sanibel and Captiva, the beach of Fort Myers and to the Everglades.

Date of stay: April 2015
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G5254VWcl...
Canton of Zug, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: October 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 6, 2017
Vielen Dank für die gute Bewertung. Ihr seid jederzeit herzlich willkommen.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jessicab9...
Munster, Niedersachsen
Level 6 Contributor
448 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
Google Translation

Date of stay: March 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibelli...
Hamburg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: February 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Der Pool und der tolle Blick!
Liked least: Mir fällt nichts ein ;-)
Traveling group: Freunden
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NadjaSchr
bei Stuttgart
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: January 2015
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing