We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Cape Coral Favorite”
Review of Rumrunners

Rumrunners
Ranked #15 of 425 Restaurants in Cape Coral
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Cape Coral Favorite”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We especilly enjoy the seafood pot pie sitting outside on a cool (by Florida standards) evening. They are also dog friendly

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NDMIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,761 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    723
    631
    255
    89
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Food, Annoying Service”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

On the positive side, the food was very good. The crab cake starter with passion fruit beurre blanc was really excellent as was the stuffed grouper and the pecan pie. Absolutely no complaints.
However, the service was very annoying. First, our mains took nearly an hour to arrive, our server was very apologetic but the technique of continually telling us the food would be a "couple of minutes" when it clearly wasn't true was not a great tactic.
Then when we had finished our mains we asked for a 5 minute wait before looking at the dessert menu, we got maybe 90 seconds and then were almost immediately hustled for our order. Before we had even finished the pecan pie (which was also very good to be fair) the bill arrived.
No offer of coffee, we were definitely no longer welcome. It was only about 8:45 and it would have been a lot earlier had we not waited so long for the mains.
A shame because the location is great and so was the food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank agedtrundler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Water front casual eating.”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Beautiful relaxed restaurant in Cape Horbour withing Cape Coral. Excellent outdoor waterfront seating (one of the best in the area) offering an extensive drink selection. Drirty banana not as good as in more tropical places (not a huge fan of "flavored" drinks compare to real fruit juices). However highly recommend the "Frozen Rum Punch" - outstanding! Also very good bloody mary. The service was friendly and the food was great. We highly enjoyed the fresh blackend fish (tilapia) tacos as a Friday special. Great overall and highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stopped in for a late lunch before heading to a dolphin cruise. The food was excellent the service was excellent and friendly. The coconut shrimp was good and the boneless chicken wings was excellent

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Turnercrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Fort Myers, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Return visit even better”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We returned to Rum Runners with the same couple we were with on our last visit earlier this year. We were seated at a nice table on the outside deck overlooking the water. We had the sangria which was very good. The food was great. We all raved about how great it was. My wife and I shared the short rib pot stickers appetizer special. They were very very good. For our entrees, my wife had the Caribbean Salmon and I had the Caribbean Pork Tenderloin special. Both were outstanding. Our dinner companions opted for the house salad appetizer and he selected the Grouper Sandwich and she the Caribbean Pork Tenderloin special. He said the sandwich was the best he ever had and she also loved the special.

We look forward to our next visit and highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rumrunners also viewed

Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Rumrunners? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing