We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great waterside location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rumrunners

Rumrunners
Ranked #13 of 417 Restaurants in Cape Coral
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
ny
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great waterside location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

Despite being a very large place, service was very good. Reasonably priced food of excellent quality, For lunch, parking was easy. Excellent drinks,Will definitely go back there on return to the area.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank fahmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,645 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    676
    589
    239
    82
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
99 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great food and view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Rumrunners has an eclectic menu - burger, seafood, chicken, salads - all very good with a different twist. Love the calamari - crispy, light served with a great aioli. Specials of the day can include seafood, sandwiches, fish tacos. All the food is good, portions not too large but more than enough to complete a meal. The view is beautiful - overlooking the spreader canal and a wildlife preserve. Boaters, fish even manatee can be seen. The seating is outside, inside-outside and inside. All comfortable and with a view. Their bar is beautiful and well stocked. Servers are trained well, attentive and efficient. You'll enjoy yourself.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Suziejacuzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“We had a very nice dinner, and the service was great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

We joined another couple at this restaurant, and they'd already moved inside because the mosquitos were too bad in the outdoor seating. They put at us at a table overlooking the water, and the view was very nice (even when it got dark). The server was very knowledgeable about both seafood and their rum offerings, and her recommendations were spot-on. I think they may have been training a bartender, however, and my first drink was not mixed well. My server took care of it and got me another drink that was perfect.

I most of us ordered seafood, and my fish was cooked perfectly. The food was very creative, with nice blending of flavors. There was an especially delicious sauce that came with the crabcakes.

After dinner the server gave us more helpful advice about where to go for the rest of our evening - a great experience overall!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“great ambience, imaginative food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

had a weekday lunch here with two friends who introduced us to Rumrunners. We sat on the upper level outside on the deck, and had a lovely view of the river and lock. The occasional boat came by or docked, apparently at weekends there are many more.
The restaurant has a classy yet relaxed feel, and there is plenty of indoor seating if you prefer.
The food was very good for all four of us, I had a Caribbean take on Black Grouper, served with sweetened plantaines and young green peas in their pods. The portions were modest, just righ for lunchtime. Good wines.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Restaurant at Cape Harbor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is the place to be in Cape Coral. Elegant location on a wide canal. Watch the boats go by while enjoying dinner or a cocktail on the deck. Close to other venues at Cape Harbor.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rumrunners also viewed

Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Rumrunners? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing