We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hopefully just growing pains”

Monarca's Authentic Mexican Cuisine Bar & Grill
Ranked #35 of 425 Restaurants in Cape Coral
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $45
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: When you walk through our doors, you feel like you were suddenly transported to Mexico. Our food is fresh made out of the freshest ingredients and encompasses truly authentic dishes brought over from our family recipies in Mexico. The smell alone makes your mouth water. We are right on the water, with direct access to the river so you can come by boat, you can drive or you can walk because we are just two blocks north from the main downtown area strip street of Cape Coral Parkway on Del Prado Blvd. You will leave Monarca's but Monarca's will never leave you and you will keep coming for more!
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hopefully just growing pains”
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

Four of us in for supper. Service and drinks at the bar were prompt and correct. Could not transfer our bar tab to the table. Fajitas with chicken were very plain, tortilla were dry and could not roll. Beef and pork dishes were very poor cuts of meat. All of our beans were tasteless. Waitress and staff really need more training.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jyljvx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonarcasRestaurant, Manager at Monarca's Authentic Mexican Cuisine Bar & Grill, responded to this review, September 21, 2016
Thank you for taking the time in the past to rate our restaurant! We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again soon! Don't forget to ask about our new referral program for loyal customers! You won't be disappointed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    115
    39
    29
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“WENT FOR COCKTAIL”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

no room at the bar so we were seated at table and we said we just wanted a drink they said OK we
had a margarita and it was very good .............chips and salsa were also very good will go back and try dinner the overall look great tables and chairs and booths looked expensive wood carvings very nicely decorated. Way too much staff but I am sure that will change. Everybody was trying to please customers hopefully it will stay and get better. What a gorgeous sign on the front it should have been on the roof and lite up so all could see don't know if that was a owners choice or just the city again with their stupid way of doing things

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHRISTINE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonarcasRestaurant, Manager at Monarca's Authentic Mexican Cuisine Bar & Grill, responded to this review, September 21, 2016
Thank you for taking the time in the past to rate our restaurant! We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again soon! Don't forget to ask about our new referral program for loyal customers! You won't be disappointed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“5 days after opening.”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

First, this is day 5 since they opened and with only a limited menu. The potential is certainly there if the owners/managers/staff will make improvements.

The décor and atmosphere is good. However signage needs some serious lighting at night.

Our Meal experience. We had reservations and were promptly seated, however the hostess needs more training in greeting customers with a smile. A party at a table across from us, walk-ins, who arrived after us were served before us. Not only served before us, but had food delivered before our order was even taken. They had paid their bill and were gone before our food was delivered. Waitress or hostess needs training to make certain customers seated first get greeted first.

Our drinks were delayed as "someone took your drinks from the bar" (two specialty Margaritas, each with different tequilas). I saw no indication of any system to control to insure that we got what was ordered. They did taste differently so at least I knew that the recipe was different.

Once the food finally got to our table, only half of the order arrived. The other half was completely wrong. Once it arrived, it was missing two key items that I had to request, Tortillas and the Salsa Rojo.

Food:
Carnitas Urapon style were OK, a bit dry, but flavorful. The frijoles were so thin they were like a puree, but not a thick puree, but again, flavorful. The salsa rojo (red sauce) was flavorful and of a nice consistency.

Camarones Al Majo de Ajo were over cooked, but again, good flavors.

The Guacamole salad was fresh and flavorful

Prices, Considering 2 late drinks, two entrees, one overcooked one dry and delivered 8 minutes after the first, the value is not evident. Total with tax was $59.35 plus a 16% tip (it would've been 20% if the waitress had served us in proper rotation and time, had not mucked up the drinks order and had not mucked up one entrée order) $70.00 spent for two people

I will revisit them after the "fully open", which is scheduled to be 26 December 2013.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Don G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonarcasRestaurant, Manager at Monarca's Authentic Mexican Cuisine Bar & Grill, responded to this review, September 21, 2016
Thank you for taking the time in the past to rate our restaurant! We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again soon! Don't forget to ask about our new referral program for loyal customers! You won't be disappointed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Will never go back”
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Went for opening night, party of 8. Reservations were made , they lost them. Had to wait over 1 hr to be seated, waited another 1 to get orders taken. Never got what we ordered, we were brought random stuff after practically begging for food. Horrible experience , will never ever go back!!

Helpful?
Thank Capecoralbeachlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonarcasManagement, Owner at Monarca's Authentic Mexican Cuisine Bar & Grill, responded to this review, December 22, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to post a Review after visiting us
at Monarcas Authentic Mexican Cuisine Bar & Grill.
Monarcas Management Team is very disappointed that you are not 100% Happy.
Please understand management takes any negative experience by our guest very serious.
I would greatly appreciate if you gave us another opportunity to make your
dine in experience with Monarcas Authentic Mexican Cuisine Bar & Grill
the best dine in experience ever !!! Please visit our website
monarcasrestaurants.com or email me at info@monarcasrestaurants.com
mention this Review and experience and i promise you this will be corrected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monarca's Authentic Mexican Cuisine Bar & Grill also viewed

Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Monarca's Authentic Mexican Cuisine Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing