We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lunch”
Review of Slate's

Slate's
Ranked #1 of 425 Restaurants in Cape Coral
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Causal fine dinning with a Cajun twist. Reservations encouraged.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

New Orleans Jazz music playing. Nicely decorated. Very good service. The Crawfish Étouffée was outstanding. Our Shrimp PO' Boy and Panini Muffuletta were very good. The M&M's brought with the check was a nice touch.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank WJH3081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slatescapecoral, Owner at Slate's, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent lunch at Slates. I'm very pleased your dinning experience was enjoyable. We are doing everything within our power to insure the service and quality of our food remain at a high level. Thank you again for sharing your visit. Allan & Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    606
    158
    40
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Back Again”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Can't remember how many times We have visited Slates... We keep going back even if for only a Cup of Gumbo. Every visit has exceeded or expectations. Keep up the good work.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chuck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slatescapecoral, Owner at Slate's, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Chuck..our family at Slates would like to personally thank you for your continued support....we will do everything in our power to see to it that every visit to Slates is better than the last...Again, thank you...Allan & Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A Little Bit of Cajun in the Cape”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

As a "local" I am always excited when some new food & flavors audition in the Cape. I hope Slate's Cajun flavored eatery goes over well because it offers a good mix of authentic Cajun styled food along with the necessary fresh seafood and beef options. Doesn't look like much from the outside but don't let that stop you. The inside is understated but nicely put together. There is a u-shaped bar that can seat about 12-15 or so and two dining areas separated by a pass through. Had to try their "Hurricane". A decent effort but not quite the same as in the "Quarter". You must try the fried oyster tostada. A plate of 5 lightly breaded fried oysters atop a sort of cajun pico de gallo and drizzled with a habenero sauce. Ooh, they were excellent. We then sampled the crawfish etouffee.
One of the most spicy offerings on the menu. Definitely made me feel like I was dining in the "Quarter". Not a huge portion but enough to share. Make sure your water glass is full and enjoy. Some of the best Cajun food is comfort food so I tried the braised boneless short ribs. Fork tender, no fat, wonderful light brown gravy on top of a crusted potato cake. Soo good. A little strange to finish off Cajun food with Key Lime pie but they do this extremely well. Not to tart and not to sweet with a "secret" pie crust that Nancy (the chef) will not divulge. So, along with a full bar menu, some decent wines by the glass or bottle & enough beer to wash down everything, this place is definitely worth a try. I have to give a shout out to Carlos our waitperson. People like him always make the dining experience so much better. What a great guy!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JamesonPowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
751 reviews
599 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“We loved Slate's and are locals”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

I have previously reviewed this restaurant and will now review our 2nd and third visits in same review. We went as a family of 4 and duo on 2 separate occasions. I always make reservations and request an outdoor table because the ambiance is so much nicer. It seems that even given reservations we are required to wait 20 plus minutes in the bar for a table, usually a 2 drink wait. The bartender is so nice it really isn't an inconvenience but it does seem that with reservations this wouldn't be necessary. For starters, we ordered the oyster tostada which was delicious, not a bite left. The artichoke dip which was the most flavorful I have had anywhere. Lobster on a stick, enticed us from the name and it didn't disappoint in flavor either. The gumbo was spicy and delicious. For entrees we had the Slate's chicken which is grilled chicken with the artichoke dip as a sauce. I ordered this after loving the appetizer so much and it didn't disappoint. The New Orleans alfredo which maybe ordered hot, medium or mild. My spouse loves hot, spicy food and ordered it hot, and found it quite spicy. He said in the future he would order it medium, so I can only imagine how hot it must have been. The sea scallops entree was our least favorite. It wasn't bad, just average. The pork chop was so good on our first visit, 2 ordered it on the second visit. It is a huge helping and cooked perfectly. The coffee rubbed filet was delicious and tender and flavorful, without a strong coffee flavor. We were so full we couldn't eat dessert. Oh almost forgot to mention the bread served in terra cotta dishes is delicious and at the end of your meal they bring a tiny terra cotta pot of M&M's for your enjoyment. I don't remember the exact tally of our tabs but with bottle of wine and many drinks (since we were in a cab) the table of 4 was under $150 and the Two of us was around $70. Slate's is our favorite Cape restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank terri E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Dinner OK but very pricey”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We ate dinner here with friends. The atmosphere was OK and the food was OK too but only OK, nothing special. The house wine was $7 for a small glass and the food we felt was rather expensive for what it was. We think that at $200 for four of us it was expensive for a just alright meal and we could eat a better meal elsewhere for less bucks.

The server was friendly and attentive and the décor quite nice, although the seating was not very comfortable.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob-a-JobSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slate's also viewed

 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Slate's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing