We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic meal”
Review of Slate's

Slate's
Ranked #1 of 427 Restaurants in Cape Coral
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Causal fine dinning with a Cajun twist. Reservations encouraged.
Fort Myers
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal”
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

We had a fantastic meal and experience at Slate's. The food was outstanding, including the appetizers, seafood entrees and even dessert. The atmosphere was perfect for my wife and I and my boss and his wife to share a meal and socialize. I would highly recommend!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank eightonesix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    612
    159
    40
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Laissez les bons temps rouler”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

If you can't get to New Orleans but want to experience some of their signature dishes, give Slate's a try. Two in our party had the gumbo and I had the crawfish etouffee. Last time I had that it was made by a true cajun in Breaux Bridge, LA - the crawfish capitol of the world. I can honestly say Slate's was almost that good. The waitress had warned me it was spicy which it was however it was the 'good' type of spicy rather than just adding more hot sauce to kick up the heat. The flavors melded into a wonderful, memorable meal. There was also a rounded loaf of crusty bread which went well with our entrees. We had three appetizers: the crab cake which was all crab - no filler, broiled oysters with parmesan, garlic and white wine and fried oysters tostados. All were delicious altho small portions. As an after dinner drink our choice was the milk punch - all I can say about that is...yum! Service was excellent and all in all it was a wonderful night out.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda49_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“OMG wonderful”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Food exquisite. Staff professional , attentive, engaging and delightful. All the combinations for an incredible night of fine dining

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank JMN1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We went to Slate's last night to try it out after reading the great reviews in the newspaper. The atmosphere was good, drinks were reasonable. My wife had the Slate's chicken and I had their seafood alfredo. The chicken was so-so; the sauce was thick / starchy while the chicken didn't have much taste. Perhaps it was just the quality of stock that was served yesterday and not their standard fare. My seafood alfredo was good - plenty of shrimp, crab and fish. Our friends had the cajun gumbo and it was excellent.

We will go back and try it again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 340Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pigeon Forge, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
651 reviews
423 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Went to Slate's for lunch and wow...”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Went to Slate's for lunch and wow it was good. Had the Gumbo and excellent. Enjoyed it very much. Nice portion. A little pricy, but good food is worth the price. Waitress was a little too overbearing, but nothing major. Surely feel that this is a place to keep trying.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Iralgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slatescapecoral, Owner at Slate's, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent visit to Slates. We are always looking to utilize the best, freshest product available. I hope you have the opportunity to join us for dinner. Again many thanks for your review and we'll see y'all soon. Allan & Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slate's also viewed

 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Slate's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing