We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New restaurant, won't be long before you have to wait in line to get in!”
Review of Slate's

Slate's
Ranked #1 of 425 Restaurants in Cape Coral
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Causal fine dinning with a Cajun twist. Reservations encouraged.
Keene, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“New restaurant, won't be long before you have to wait in line to get in!”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This is a new restaurant and this was our first trip. We went for the Sunday Brunch and had the Champaign Benedict - perfect, service was great and food was outstanding. It won't be long before you have to wait in line to get in this place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveler2358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    602
    158
    40
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great People, Great Prices!”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Do yourself a favor & check out Cape Coral's newest restaurant! Slate's has a great casual vibe with some of the best Cajun flavors around. We had our 4th meal there since their opening 2 weeks ago! Friendly staff, GREAT food, and it's SO affordable. The owners are "hands on" and add great personal touches like jazz playing in the background & custom upholstered church pews. I'm hooked on the Caesar Salad & Crab Cake appetizer, but the New Orleans Alfredo will probably be my next entre. The portions are generous, but save room for dessert because the Brownie Sundae shouldn't be missed!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Welcome addition to C.C.”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Slate's has been open for just two weeks — "grand" opening on the 12/27 — and is already showing signs of becoming one of Cape Coral's go-to places. The location is undistinguished, though very convenient, just a block off of CC Parkway. Building itself is freshly spruced-up; parking is not abundant given the considerable seating inside...

We went for lunch, attracted by the articles that have appeared lately in the News-Press. A warm welcome from hostess Linda and unusually attractive interior decor immediately set the tone. Service was smiling and attentive in spite of a malfunctioning credit card machine that presented frustration to the waitstaff and inconvenience to some of the early customers. Well-chosen music, so welcome after a month of Christmas tunes!

But enough about all that. I had the fish-of-the day sandwich, Chilean sea bass on a terrific ciabatta roll, served with a yummy drizzle of fruit-infused but not-too-sweet sauce (I asked for more); the fish is proposed grilled or blackened, but I followed the example of a neighbor, who had asked for it with a panko crust: perfectly cooked, absolutely delicious, and a very good value at the "market price" of $14. My husband ordered the gumbo, which was very good. There is a short wine list, undistinguished but very reasonably priced, a novel idea other restaurants might adopt. We will return soon to try the étouffée, and/or the shrimp Po-boy, crab cake sandwich, zydeco sausage sandwich, beans and rice, or one of the excellent-sounding salads... Once they've reached cruising speed Slate's will also post daily specials on their blackboard.

The restaurant was never crowded, but there were 5 or 6 tables occupied at any time, and everyone looked to be happy; portions are generous, and prices are what they should be. Our one reservation was that the kitchen was a little slow to produce our lunch (and we are not people in a hurry). One hopes they will be able to deal with the affluence that word-of-mouth is certain to bring!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love, Love, Love!”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Without doubt, one of the best new restaurants in Cape Coral! Love the New Orleans themed décor, FANTASTIC wait staff, and picking a favorite dish would be difficult as all are so darned good! (However, the Goat Cheese Salad, New Orleans Alfredo and definitely the Chocolate Croissant Bread Pudding will remain at the top of my favorites list!)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Love This Type of Food!”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Been waiting for this place to open for some time. Had the Cajun Pasta and crab cakes....wife had the shrimp and Grits.....loved it all. We also shared some Gumbo....Loved that too. While I have not had their red beans and rice in the restaurant...I did have it at the Farmer's Market stand they had....and it was excellent also. Will go back early and often.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mookied39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slate's also viewed

 
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Slate's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing