We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun open air happy hour restaurant”
Review of Crazy Olive - CLOSED

Crazy Olive
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
North Fort Myers, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Fun open air happy hour restaurant”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is a big airy open air restaurant. The main bar opens to both the inside and outside. The happy hour drinks are good and inexpensive. There is a large menu of both interesting appetizers and entrees. The calzones are great. The waitress was attentive and professional. There is entertainment starting at 7 at the end of the happy hour.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sctmster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    14
    6
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
381 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Big improvement over the previous restaurant at this location”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Which is better, Carrabba's (across the street) or Crazy Olive? Difficult question to answer. Our experience after two visits to the Crazy Olive is that 70% of the menu items are better. Service was generally better. The dishes are larger. But the environment is not as attractive and can be very noisy unless you are seeking a very active and noisy environment (which obviously many people were). There is an outdoor band area and when the bands are playing, the walls are opened to the inside bringing all of that noise inside. Our overall preference right now is for Crazy Olive unless we are expecting a more intimate meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ValVil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Needs a lot of work, starting with the cooks”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Waitress was wonderful and attentive, bread and salads were great, great drinks selections but that's where it ends...

I think we waited over 30 minutes for our meals to arrive after our salads. We had a party of 5 and only 1 meal (the pasta dish) was not messed up. Everyone received the wrong sides. A steak was ordered medium and came out extremely thin and well done, 3 fish meals were all overdone (one was actually hard on the bottom and inedible), sauces ordered with the fish were way too watery, and potatoes were served frozen solid in the center.

The manager came over and apologized, taking the steak and 1 fish meal off our bill. We won't go back again, which is a shame because it was nice being able to go somewhere for dinner that offered a great, live band before 9pm. The cooks should know how to prepare steak and seafood if they are going to offer these items as half of their menu.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RRobinson1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“I wanted to like it, but didn't”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

After reading a very favorable review from our local dining critic I was looking forward to our first visit to The Crazy Olive. A group of five of us decided to go last night. Our overall impression after the meal was that this establishment is, at least for now, average at best. We arrived for our 6:30 PM reservation and were greeted and seated immediately by a very friendly hostess. The first thing we noticed was the musical entertainment. It was a single guy singing and playing the guitar. His selections were on the folksy side and he had, what I considered to be, a good voice. The only problem was that he was MUCH TOO LOUD. We asked twice that he lower the amp, to no avail. We could hardly hear each other talk over the music. This type of entertainment might be appropriate for a bar or possibly outside seating. But it was not right for an inside dining establishment. Our waiter, who was also very congenial and as helpful as could be expected, was at the table a short time later to take our drink orders. The first person ordered a glass of white zinfandel and was advised that they had run out. Mind you, this is 6:30 PM on a Monday. She accepted a substitute which, in her words, was "just OK". The rest of the drinks were ordered without problem. Not long after that we ordered salads which took less than 10 minutes to arrive. They were nicely prepared and tasty. For some reason the bread didn't arrive until we were almost done with the salads. However, it was worth waiting for. Unfortunately, the bread and accompanying plates of olive oil and olive salad were the best part of the meal. The diner menu is extensive with a varied choice of meats, fish, sauces and pasta. It was almost overwhelming having so many options. But, of the five meals that were ordered only one person said they would order theirs again. That was the lobster mac & cheese, which was described as "excellent, one of the best ever". The tilapia was nothing special. One dish of pasta with shrimp and vodka sauce was good, nothing more. One dish of pasta with chicken and meat sauce was described as tasteless and adding salt, pepper and cheese didn't help. I ordered the seafood scampi. The pasta was cooked nicely and there were quite a few large shrimp and scallops. The shrimp were cooked properly but a few of the scallops were a bit overdone and rubbery. The real problem was again the taste. There wasn't any. It was as if everything had been cooked in plain water and served without any garlic or spices. All the portions, except the fish, were very large. But if you can't taste what you're eating what good is a large portion. As we left we were thanked by both our waiter and the hostess, which was a nice touch.

We might try this place again to see if the food gets any better or the music gets any lower. But for now I could not recommend this establishment to anyone looking for a good meal in the Cape.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“First time and probably last time.”
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Went for Mother's Day; took my wife, mom, and mother in law. Place has a really nice vibe and atmosphere. We decided to sit outside because it was nice. Good idea until it got dark. They barely have lights outside; even the waitress said it to us. The waitress was extremely slow. Couldn't really help us with the menu and when we ordered a beer it never came. She remembered when we had almost finished dinner telling us that they had ran out of that beer. Didn't even offer us another drink. The food was okay; pizza was nothing out of this world. My wife had the angel hair pasta with shrimp in a Gorgonzola Sauce; not that bad. Shrimps were hard. Another thing was that the menu is a little pricey for a local joint. Overall not a bad place but I probably won't return on my own. M

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danielja1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crazy Olive also viewed

Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing