We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rising Star”
Review of Dolphin Key Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dolphin Key Resort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Cape Coral
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rising Star”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

It is impossible to deny that the Dolphin Key Resort is still being developed and renovated, but that being said for a work in progress it has amazing potential. The rooms are all new and very clean, the pool area is beautiful and the owners not only welcome any constructive feedback you have, but you can usually actually see them putting those recommendations to work within as little as a few days! The Tiki Bar is quite loud so you may not want to face it if you have small children or are a light sleeper, but the atmosphere is very friendly and so is the staff, all really nice! I personally received my food and drinks in good time and found my drinks well made by a polite staff. My only critique of the menu is I wish there was some fruit somewhere on it; though in all fairness it is a bar menu and I suppose most bars do not have fruit. Like said, as long as you keep in mind that the Resort is a work in progress and has yet to reach its full potential as a complete resort this is an amazing bargain for your buck!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magdalena T, Owner at Dolphin Key Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Hi,

Thank You for the nice review! We serve fruit now! Thank You also for all the good ideas.
We appriciate all the feedback we can get and implement them as we go.
Welcome back/Magdalena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    121
    67
    26
    25
See reviews for
85
154
26
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed at the Dolphin Key because they had a high rating for being clean. They got that right. But it wasn't exactly in a resort area. Most of the rooms have been 100% remodeled right down to the studs.. If I owned this property and bought it cheap I would have done the same thing. Now that the ecomomy is coming back someone was smart enough to buy this place and do the work to bring it back to what it was in 1966. The neighborhood can only get better and the rest of the rooms will be finished.. The night we stayed there they seem confused and not very professional. Probably because they had very little hotel experience, and no hot water? I will try again someday because my parents stayed there in 1966 or1967 when they bought ln one ot the first devlopments in Cape Coral. Keep Trying You Will Make it!

Room Tip: By al means ask for a inside room by the pool you will at least think you are in resort. The Tiki b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimmieO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magdalena T, Owner at Dolphin Key Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Hi.
I am glad that you will come back! We have investigted the water issue and solved it and have trained our lobby staff on our new system, so hope fully your experience will be a smooth one next time. Please contact me so i can offer you a drink at the Tiki./ Magdalena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
195 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

So this is an interesting hotel & story. We arrive at night and immediately I'm like: "this is a very sketchy part of town". PLUS there was hotel furniture out in the parking lot!! And to top it off...you are definitely not on the water---so the word "Resort" is a stretch~~~
But then we walk into the lobby and it's: Nice! Clean!! Respectable!!!
And the room was nice too: Clean! Scandanavian type features in the shower.....We woke up and I was thinking; "are we in Europe"?
So here's the deal: This WAS the sketchy part of town and this team of optimistic investors is committed to changing all that. They are completely renovating the rooms, and it appears that about half are done. They have also rebuilt "The Tiki Hut" on the far side of the property.; which is where you will have your breakfast in the morning. The Tiki Hut is a very happening spot on weekends. Lots of people having a good time. And it gets LOUD. So ask for a room on the side away from the noise. We booked for one nite but stayed two. There was no room service at all, which tells me that these guys are still working out the kinks. I mean we got one little piece of bar soap---for 2 people---for 2 days!! HaHa....kinda funny.....Anyway, we were gona spend a 3rd nite but the soap was gone! So, seriously, we went across town and checked into the Hampton.
We met one of the owners. We like her. We liked the two gals who served breakfast, Suzie & Camille. (Although the breakfast needs to be better.) We liked everyone who worked the front desk. The owners ARE definitely hiring good professional people. They just need to concentrate a little more on the details for "the customers" who are staying there now.
I don't need to be pampered, but I do need to be acknowledged after the "check-in".
But we wish them well....these guys can probably pull this off...

Room Tip: Do Not stay on the Tiki Bar side, if you a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

The service was slow and the drinks were not made well. The food was okay. The wait staff was horrible. The only staff that was friendly and helpful was a young guy named Jimmy and a maintenance guy whose name I didn't catch. The room looked clean and nice but don't walk barefoot on the tile because your feet will be black. I will not be returning.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lez_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magdalena T, Owner at Dolphin Key Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Hi
I am so sorry you had a bad experience, as you can see on most our reviews tell quite the opposite, so we hope we get a chance to welcomeyou back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseland, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

This hotel looks brand new. Enjoyed the smoke-free environment and appreciated the clean well-kept room. Enjoyed the adjacent Tiki bar and friendly staff. Will definitely stay here again. Conveniently located, easy to get to local beach, Sanibel Island, and Fort Meyers Beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wendyg84fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This is the hotel if you are looking for a completely and just newly renovated hotel in the Cape Coral. If you are a bit picky like me about clean, new and fresh, this family owned hotel brings the visitors immaculate rooms. The new rooms has a bit of Scandinavian touch to them so if you can´t stand the wall to wall carpets, no worries, they do not exist.

On the resort you will also find what claims to be the largest Tiki Bar in the world. True or not - the “Tiki Hut Bar and Grill” has everything you can ask for and offers live music several nights per week. If you would like to fine dine, just walk across the street to the Brew Babies.

With the dedication from the family running the hotel and the kindness of the staff it is hard to find anything to criticize – but if the pool would have been heated - perfect!

This will for sure be a hotel for me to come back to when visiting friends in the area!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Coral
1.2 mi away
Hideaway Waterfront Resort & Hotel
3.6 mi away
The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cape Coral/Fort Myers Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Coral/Fort Myers Area
1.8 mi away
Casa Loma Motel on the Waterfront
4.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fort Myers Sanibel / Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Key Resort

Property: Dolphin Key Resort
Address: 1502 Miramar St, Cape Coral, FL 33904-9737
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Cape Coral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Cape Coral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolphin Key Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dolphin Key Resort is a new Hotel located one block from Down Town Cape Coral, with 35 bars and restaurants to enjoy. You can also go visit the Wicked Dolphin Rum distillery and see how rum is made or go fishing of the pier at the yacht club beach, all for free. If you want to shop visit Miramar outlets 45 min from the resort or walk around town and visit the local stores. A drive to Pine Island is strongly recommended if you want to see the genuine real Florida Gulf Coast life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Dolphin Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing