We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always Come here!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Steak 'n Shake

Steak 'n Shake
Ranked #269 of 417 Restaurants in Cape Coral
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Steak ‘n Shake is a classic American brand famous for the Original Steakburger™ and hand-dipped Milk Shakes. Stop in today for breakfast, lunch, dinner or late night. Dine in, drive thru or carryout.
Robbinsville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Always Come here!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

im originally from New Jersey and i visit Floirda about 4 times a year and every time i land, i leave the plane and go right here! The price is very cheap but the food is delicious! i get the double steak burger and a mint choc. milkshake! SOOO GOOOD

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HaileyMarie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    28
    14
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sparrow Bush, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“McDees, Wendy's and Burger King move over”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Just finished vacationing in Cape Coral, Florida. Had to let everyone know about a "Fast Food" restaurant find. Steak and Shake is THE place to eat for both the Cape and Fort Meyers. It is an old style sit down burger restaurant with waiter/ waitress service. Ok now I know you will say that isn't comparing apples, but keep this in mind. What have you been paying for those make believe burgers from McDee and Burger King? The combos. Now up to minimum of $6.50 to $8.50 right.
You stand on line ,order ,wait around for your order to be placed on a tray and off you go o find an empty table.
Not at S&S. you sit down get waited on by some of the most friendly staff I have met in awhile. FOUR dollar combos...yes..$4.00 without a drink and yes you can order water w lemon at no charge. My wife and I tried the one in Ft. Meyers and Cape Coral and found both great. We have tried their one foot long beef hot dogs with fries, their double cheeseburgers w fries and their garlic double cheeseburgers. All were excellent. All were Four Dollars. Now on top of this you can order soda or $1 ice tea or of course a variety of real shakes. The clincher is their $1 Oreo ice cream sandwich..made fresh...yup not frozen.
How do my tastes in fast food rate the other chains? For us, Wendy's then McDees, then the King. Arby's would rank right behind Wendy's but they have limited locations.
Try a real sit down old fashion style hamburger joint. You will not be disappointed. Ah yes they do have take out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ziggy12780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinette, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

The frisco burger was quite greasy and the fries were cold. It was so cold inside that our food couldn't stay warm and we hurried through our meal just to get outside and warm up. Wanted to try one of their yummy looking desserts but it was just too cold to enjoy it. Everyone had on jackets or sweatshirts.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank maggiemaen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“good if you like greasy food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

tried this restaurant for breakfast
everything tasted like onions.
the person at the cash register had shiny hands, covered with grease--can you image her handling cash and food too?
first and last time for me.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveler1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAPE MAY COURT HOUSE
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beats the fast food joints”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

A great place for burgers and fries at less than fast food prices. The real value and a danger to my waistline is their awesome shakes. Time to go is from 2-4pm (Happy Hour). Good thing I don't live near this place. Also, I would be remiss if I failed to mention our waitress Nicole. Very nice person, incredibly funny, professional, efficient, etc. Good experience every time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank THOMAS D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steak 'n Shake also viewed

Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Steak 'n Shake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing